Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Melck's red card rescinded

14th May 2014 09:09

Share:

Justin Melck Saracens training 2013

Free to play: Justin Melck

Saracens back-row Justin Melck's red card received in Saturday's clash with Leicester at Welford Road has been rescinded.

Melck faced a RFU Disciplinary hearing, who ruled that is free to play with immediate effect and the red card comes off his record.

Melck had been charged with an act contrary to good sportsmanship, contrary to Law 10.4(e), for allegedly making contact with the eye(s) or eye area of Leicester Tigers hooker Neil Briggs.

Chairman Jeremy Summers said: "Contact with eye is a serious offence but having considered reports from the Leicester Tigers, the Citing Commissioner and Mr Melck, I was satisfied that there had in fact been no contact with the eye/eye area. In those circumstances the red card was rescinded and no sanction was imposed."

The RFU Panel comprised of Jeremy Summers (chair), Liz Riley and Peter Budge.

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Saracens vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster vs Saracens19:45
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont AuvergneSaracens vs Clermont Auvergne Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 GloucesterSaracens vs Gloucester Report
Friday , October 3
Bath 21 - 11 Saracens
Saturday , September 27
Saracens 40 - 19 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
Saturday , September 6
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615