Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Melck's red card rescinded

14th May 2014 09:09

Share:

Justin Melck Saracens training 2013

Free to play: Justin Melck

Saracens back-row Justin Melck's red card received in Saturday's clash with Leicester at Welford Road has been rescinded.

Melck faced a RFU Disciplinary hearing, who ruled that is free to play with immediate effect and the red card comes off his record.

Melck had been charged with an act contrary to good sportsmanship, contrary to Law 10.4(e), for allegedly making contact with the eye(s) or eye area of Leicester Tigers hooker Neil Briggs.

Chairman Jeremy Summers said: "Contact with eye is a serious offence but having considered reports from the Leicester Tigers, the Citing Commissioner and Mr Melck, I was satisfied that there had in fact been no contact with the eye/eye area. In those circumstances the red card was rescinded and no sanction was imposed."

The RFU Panel comprised of Jeremy Summers (chair), Liz Riley and Peter Budge.

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , September 6
Saracens vs Wasps14:00
Friday , September 12
Harlequins vs Saracens19:45
Saturday , September 20
London Irish vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , September 27
Saracens vs Sale15:00
Friday , October 3
Bath vs Saracens19:45
Saturday , October 11
Saracens vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , November 15
Leicester vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , November 22
Saracens vs Northampton15:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Saracens vs Clermont Auvergne15:15
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Newcastle Falcons00
9Northampton00
10Sale Sharks00
11Saracens00
12Wasps00