Planet Rugby

Northampton

Northampton

Two pools of death in Champions Cup

10th June 2014 12:50

Share:

Tom Youngs of Leicester Tigers tangles with Chris Henry of Ulster in Heineken Cup match

Clash: Leicester and Ulster

The draw for the inaugural European Rugby Champions Cup has been made in Switzerland, with champions Toulon facing Leicester, Ulster and Scarlets.

Usually in these draws there will be one so called 'Pool of Death' but Tuesday's event threw up two, as Saracens, Munster, Clermont and Sale Sharks were also pitted against each other in Pool 1.

Pool 2 will see PRO12 champions Leinster face Top 14 finalists Castres, Premiership giants Harlequins and the improving London Wasps.

Glasgow head Pool 4 and will take on two French sides in the shape of Montpellier and Toulouse, with Bath completing another tough foursome.

Finally, Pool 5 consists of Premiership winners Northampton Saints, the big-spending Racing Metro, the Ospreys and Italian side Treviso.

European Rugby Champions Cup

Pool 1: Saracens, Munster, Clermont, Sale Sharks
Pool 2: Leinster, Castres, Harlequins, London Wasps
Pool 3: Toulon, Leicester Tigers, Ulster, Scarlets
Pool 4: Glasgow Warriors, Montpellier, Bath, Toulouse
Pool 5: Northampton Saints, Racing Metro, Ospreys, Treviso

  • Northampton Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Northampton vs Exeter19:45
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Sunday , November 30
London Welsh vs Northampton14:30
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Harlequins vs Northampton15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Benetton Treviso vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , December 13
Northampton vs Benetton TrevisoTBC
Saturday , January 17
Ospreys vs NorthamptonTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Northampton Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Northampton 34 - 6 OspreysNorthampton vs Ospreys Report
Saturday , October 18
Racing Metro 92 20 - 11 NorthamptonRacing Metro 92 vs Northampton Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale SharksNorthampton vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , October 4
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
Saturday , September 27
Northampton 31 - 24 Bath
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615