Planet Rugby

Northampton

Northampton

Saints' Hartley to miss semi-final

14th May 2014 10:56

Share:

Dylan Hartley waiting for a line out for Northampton Saints

Dylan Hartley: Won't rush back

Hooker Dylan Hartley will not be in the Northampton squad when they face Leicester in Friday's semi-final at Franklin's Gardens.

Hartley, who has been sidelined since March with a fractured shoulder suffered against the Tigers, was reportedly in the frame to return to action this weekend.

But with England set to tour New Zealand next month, Hartley has been warned not to rush his return and hopes to be fit for the Saints' Amlin Challenge Cup final against Bath in Cardiff on May 23.

"I was hoping to play this week so my comeback is a matter of days," he told the Guardian.

"There is no point in coming back too early with big games hopefully ahead. We have booked one final and we will know this weekend whether we have another one. Further down the line is the England tour.

"I am progressing day by day. The medics said six to eight weeks when I suffered the injury and we are at six weeks, which is why I always said I was going to try to play this week.

"The decision about when I do play will be clear-cut and it involves the club and England: it is not a case of one side telling me to play and the other not to.

"There is a risk that if I come back too soon I could dislocate the shoulder making my first tackle and I still have to take contact on it."

England are facing a growing crisis at hooker with Leicester's Tom Youngs already ruled out due to personal reasons and Bath's Rob Webber and London Irish's David Paice doubtful due to injury.

  • Northampton Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Northampton vs Exeter19:45
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Sunday , November 30
London Welsh vs Northampton14:30
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Harlequins vs Northampton15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Northampton vs Ospreys17:15
Saturday , December 6
Benetton Treviso vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , December 13
Northampton vs Benetton TrevisoTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Northampton Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Racing Metro 92 20 - 11 NorthamptonRacing Metro 92 vs Northampton Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale SharksNorthampton vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , October 4
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
Saturday , September 27
Northampton 31 - 24 Bath
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
Friday , September 5
Northampton 53 - 6 Gloucester
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615