Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Furno backed to shine at Falcons

21st August 2014 12:29

Share:

Josh Furno Italy v Scotland 2014

Backed: Joshua Furno

Former Newcastle second-row Carlo Del Fava believes new signing Joshua Furno will be a success at the Aviva Premiership outfit during 2014/15.

The 24-year-old, who joined the Falcons in the off-season from Biarritz, has eighteen caps for the Azzurri and impressed in 2014's Six Nations.

And that is why the now retired international lock Del Fava insists Newcastle have got themselves a solid signing in the versatile Italy forward.

"I think because he had a really good Six Nations - scoring tries, going through loads of work on the pitch," Del Fava revealed to BBC Newcastle.

"He's come on leaps and bounds since he was in Italy."

Del Fava added: "He's learnt the harder way of living in the second division in France."

"If he brings that hard edge and a bit of the dynamism and athleticism that he has and you combine all of that with some good clear solid direction from John Wells, then I think he's going to be a good asset to the team."

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh vs Newcastle14:30
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , November 8
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 17
Newcastle vs Bucuresti20:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 NewcastleWasps vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 NorthamptonNewcastle vs Northampton Report
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers410
9Harlequins48
10Sale Sharks47
11Newcastle Falcons41
12London Welsh41