Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Chiefs forward signs for Falcons

17th July 2014 08:36

Share:

Kane Thompson Chiefs SR 2012

Newcastle move: Kane Thompson

Newcastle have strengthened their playing stocks as the club announced the signing of Kane Thompson from the Chiefs ahead of the new season.

An imposing physical presence, standing 6ft 6in tall and weighing in at 17st 9lbs, Thompson is regarded as analytical and skilful at the lineout.

He can play at lock and eight and has competed for Southland and Hawke's Bay in the ITM Cup as well as in Japan and with U.S. Dax in France.

Speaking about his latest capture, Newcastle Falcons Director of Rugby Dean Richards said: "Kane is a proven operator at the highest levels of rugby in the Southern Hemisphere and has down very well internationally for Samoa.

"We have really liked what we have seen of him and expect that the supporters will too and fully anticipate he will repeat what he has done all the way throughout his career and establish himself as a key member of the squad."

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle Falcons vs Sale Sharks15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , February 14
Exeter vs Newcastle15:00
Friday , February 20
Newcastle vs Wasps20:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Newcastle vs Sale15:00
Saturday , February 7
London Irish vs Newcastle15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , December 5
Newcastle vs Stade Francais20:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 21
Newcastle Falcons 20 - 10 GloucesterNewcastle Falcons vs Gloucester Report
Saturday , November 15
Bath 23 - 14 Newcastle FalconsBath vs Newcastle Falcons Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Newcastle 21 - 22 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , November 1
Northampton 37 - 23 Newcastle
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816
10Newcastle Falcons813
11London Irish812
12London Welsh81