Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Blues face Irish in Challenge Cup

10th June 2014 12:23

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Cardiff Blues

Tough pool: Cardiff Blues

The draw for the inaugural European Rugby Challenge Cup has been made in Switzerland, with Cardiff Blues and London Irish being pooled together.

Grenoble and a FIRA-AER qualifier complete that group while the other tough pool sees Edinburgh, Bordeaux, London Welsh and Lyon colliding.

LV= Cup winners Exeter Chiefs will face stiff opposition from Top 14 outfit Bayonne, but will be early favourites to top Pool 2 with Connacht and La Rochelle unlikely to spring many surprises.

Stade Francais too look strong enough to see off the respective challenges of the Dragons, Newcastle Falcons and another FIRA-AER qualifier, while Gloucester have been grouped with hard-to-beat Top 14 pair Brive and Oyonnax, as well as the ever-improving Zebre.

European Rugby Challenge Cup

Pool 1: Cardiff Blues, London Irish, Grenoble, FIRA-AER
Pool 2: Exeter Chiefs, Bayonne, Connacht, La Rochelle
Pool 3: Stade Francais, Dragons, Newcastle Falcons, FIRA-AER
Pool 4: Edinburgh, Bordeaux Begles, London Welsh, Lyon
Pool 5: Gloucester, Brive, Zebre, Oyonnax

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , February 14
Exeter vs Newcastle15:00
Friday , February 20
Newcastle vs Wasps20:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Newcastle vs Sale15:00
Saturday , February 7
London Irish vs Newcastle15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , December 5
Newcastle vs Stade Francais20:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 21
Newcastle Falcons 20 - 10 GloucesterNewcastle Falcons vs Gloucester Report
Saturday , November 15
Bath 23 - 14 Newcastle FalconsBath vs Newcastle Falcons Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Newcastle 21 - 22 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , November 1
Northampton 37 - 23 Newcastle
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 Newcastle
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816
10Newcastle Falcons813
11London Irish812
12London Welsh81