Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Blues face Irish in Challenge Cup

10th June 2014 12:23

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Cardiff Blues

Tough pool: Cardiff Blues

The draw for the inaugural European Rugby Challenge Cup has been made in Switzerland, with Cardiff Blues and London Irish being pooled together.

Grenoble and a FIRA-AER qualifier complete that group while the other tough pool sees Edinburgh, Bordeaux, London Welsh and Lyon colliding.

LV= Cup winners Exeter Chiefs will face stiff opposition from Top 14 outfit Bayonne, but will be early favourites to top Pool 2 with Connacht and La Rochelle unlikely to spring many surprises.

Stade Francais too look strong enough to see off the respective challenges of the Dragons, Newcastle Falcons and another FIRA-AER qualifier, while Gloucester have been grouped with hard-to-beat Top 14 pair Brive and Oyonnax, as well as the ever-improving Zebre.

European Rugby Challenge Cup

Pool 1: Cardiff Blues, London Irish, Grenoble, FIRA-AER
Pool 2: Exeter Chiefs, Bayonne, Connacht, La Rochelle
Pool 3: Stade Francais, Dragons, Newcastle Falcons, FIRA-AER
Pool 4: Edinburgh, Bordeaux Begles, London Welsh, Lyon
Pool 5: Gloucester, Brive, Zebre, Oyonnax

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh vs Newcastle14:30
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , November 8
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 17
Newcastle vs Bucuresti20:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 NewcastleWasps vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 NorthamptonNewcastle vs Northampton Report
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers410
9Harlequins48
10Sale Sharks47
11Newcastle Falcons41
12London Welsh41