Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

York extends Newcastle stay

30th May 2014 11:41

Share:

Chris York Jamie Hagan

Staying put: Chris York

Newcastle Falcons back-row Chris York has extended his stay on Tyneside ahead of the 2014/15 Premiership campaign.

The 24-year-old joined the Falcons from Harlequins in the summer of 2012 and has since gone on to make 28 appearances for the club.

Ending this season on a high with a series of solid outings including a try-scoring display at Gloucester in March, the 6ft 4" forward is delighted to have re-signed with the Falcons.

"I'm very pleased to have pledged my future to Newcastle Falcons, and I'm extremely positive and excited at what lies ahead for the club," York told Newcastle Falcons' official website.

"I'm looking forward to another season in the Aviva Premiership and hopefully we get the rewards for all of the hard work that we are putting in at present."

Newcastle director of rugby Dean Richards, who worked with York during his time as Quins boss, said: "Chris is a talented back-row with all of the credentials that you need to succeed in the Aviva Premiership.

"He's a great lad with a superb attitude and I'm sure that he can't wait to get back out onto the training field and get a good pre-season under his belt."

York is one of 11 players to have penned a fresh deal with the club in the last two months, while nine new signings have already been unveiled for next term as the feel good factor for rugby in the North East continues under the stewardship of Richards.

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle16:00
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Newcastle vs Stade FrancaisTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 NewcastleLondon Welsh vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69
12London Welsh61