Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Richards to transform Newcastle

11th May 2014 15:21

Share:

Dean Richards 2013

Revolution: Dean Richards

With signings being made for next season and having avoided relegation, Newcastle boss Dean Richards will have 'a different side' next season.

Those were the words of the Falcons director of rugby after their season ended with a loss at home to Exeter Chiefs.

Newcastle are fortunate that Worcester have struggled all season, because their run of form in the last few months has been woeful.

In the end the Falcons finished just six points clear of safety, but Richards is predicting a new dawn next season.

"There will be a different game plan next year," said Richards.

"Andy and Alex are quality acquisitions and have bags of experience at the very highest level.

"It's been a very difficult season for us but we have some new players coming in alongside the Tuilagis and what you will see will be a different side to this season.

"The way we play next season will also be different, it would be stupid not use the capabilities of the players we have signed. We will play with more punch in the back line was well as up front."

Exeter's Rob Baxter was far happier with the outcome after his team narrowly missed out in their race for the playoffs last week in the loss to Harlequins.

"It was a really pleasing result. We didn't start very well and were six points down but we recovered to dominate the game and we did the right things when we needed to - we don't always do that," said Baxter.

"We had a chance to take a bonus point at the end which is why we played the way we did and we have to learn to take these chances.

"We're relatively happy with the way the season has gone. We held our own for most of the season and we won a cup. Okay we faded a little at the end but that's hardly surprising."

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle16:00
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Newcastle vs Stade FrancaisTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 NewcastleLondon Welsh vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69
12London Welsh61