Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Eagle signs for Falcons

16th April 2014 16:23

Share:

USA Eagles prop Eric Fry

Newcastle move: Eric Fry

Newcastle Falcons have announced the signing of American international prop Eric Fry, who is the club's sixth signing ahead of next season.

The 26-year-old, who has spent two seasons with London Scottish, will join the Kingston Park side from the capital at the end of 2013/14's campaign.

Prop Fry has 23 caps for his country, making his international debut against Tonga in the Churchill Cup in 2011, before earning a call-up to the USA squad for the 2011 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand where he played a full 80 minutes against Australia in his country's Pool game.

"I've enjoyed my time at Scottish and we've had a reasonably successful season this year which is very pleasing," Fry told the Falcons website.

"Newcastle will be a good challenge for me, and I've heard nothing but good things about the area," he added.

Newcastle director of rugby Dean Richards said: "Eric is a great acquisition for the club and gives us steel in the front-row.

"He's been a cornerstone of the London Scottish pack over the last two seasons, and his experience at international level will help us."

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle vs Northampton14:00
Sunday , September 28
Wasps vs Newcastle14:00
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh vs Newcastle14:30
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle15:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , November 8
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons vs Newcastle19:30
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London IrishNewcastle vs London Irish Report
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 NewcastleLeicester vs Newcastle Report
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Harlequins24
9Gloucester24
10Sale Sharks22
11Newcastle Falcons21
12London Welsh21