Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Tipuna signs for Newcastle

28th March 2014 18:37

Share:

Ruki Tipuna

Falcons deal: Ruki Tipuna

Newcastle Falcons have announced the signing of scrum-half Ruki Tipuna, who will join the club on a two-year deal from Bristol from next season.

The 30-year-old, who has made more than 60 appearances for the West Country club since joining from the Scarlets in November 2011, has pace, creativity and an excellent kicking game.

Scoring seven tries in all competitions this term, including a brace during last Sunday's hard-fought 33-27 victory at Leeds Carnegie in the Championship, the Kiwi who becomes English qualified in October, has been a mainstay of a Bristol side that is sitting at the top of the table.

"I'm really excited at the prospect of testing myself against the very best in the Aviva Premiership," Tipuna told the Falcons' official website.

"Newcastle Falcons certainly has a bright future under Dean Richards and I'm looking forward to helping the club move up to the next level.

"My focus at the moment is with my current club Bristol, and I want to help them achieve their ambition of playing in the Aviva Premiership," he added.

Newcastle director of rugby Dean Richards said: "Ruki is a quality signing for the club, whose experience and skillset will be invaluable for the club.

"I'm looking forward to welcoming him to Kingston Park in the summer, and he is an exciting talent that will relish playing for Newcastle."

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle16:00
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Newcastle vs Stade FrancaisTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 NewcastleLondon Welsh vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69
12London Welsh61