Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Saracens cruise into LV=Cup semi-finals

26th January 2014 16:53

Share:

Saracens Ben Ransom centre is tackled by Newcastle

Try for Saracens: Ben Ransom

Saracens joined Bath in the qualifying for the Anglo-Welsh Cup semi-finals with a round to play thanks to a 41-8 victory over Newcastle at Allianz Park on Sunday.

Saracens led 15-8 at the interval thanks to five penalties from scrum-half Ben Spencer while Newcastle wing Tom Catterick scored the only try of the first half.

But it was one-way traffic after the break.

Two tries from number eight Jackson Wray early in the second-half gave the hosts a comfortable lead before full-back Ben Ransom and replacement lock Tom Jubb (on his birthday) scored a try each in the last quarter to secure the bonus-point win and top spot in Pool 1.

The scorers:

For Saracens:
Tries: Wray 2, Ransom, Jubb
Cons: Spencer 3
Pens: Spencer 5

For Newcastle:
Try: Catterick
Pen: J. Hodgson
Yellow card: Tomes

Saracens: 15 Ben Ransom, 14 Jack Wilson, 13 Tim Streather, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Nathan Earle, 10 Nils Mordt (c), 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Jackson Wray, 7 Matt Hankin, 6 Nick de Jaeger, 5 Eoin Sheriff, 4 Hayden Smith, 3 James Johnston, 2 Jared Saunders, 1 Rhys Gill
Replacements: 16 Scott Spurling, 17 Nick Auterac, 18 Biyi Alo, 19 Tom Jubb, 20 Maro Itoje, 21 Duncan Taylor, 22 Sam Stanley, 23 Charlie Kingsman

Newcastle: 15 Simon Hammersley, 14 Tom Catterick, 13 Danny Barnes, 12 Alex Crockett, 11 Zach Kibirige, 10 Joel Hodgson, 9 Chris Pilgrim, 8 Chris York (c), 7 Dan Temm, 6 Ben Morris, 5 Glen Young, 4 Sean Tomes, 3 Oliver Tomaszczyk, 2 George McGuigan, 1 Franck Montanella
Replacements: 16 David Nelson, 17 Gary Strain, 18 Grant Shiells, 19 Will Witty, 20 Ollie Hodgson, 21 Andy Davies, 22 Rory Clegg, 23 Tom Penny

Venue: Allianz Park
Referee: Greg Macdonald (England)
Assistant referees: Brian Ravenhill (England), Kelvin Stewart (England)
Timekeeper: John Burtenshaw (England)
Assessor: Brian Campsall (England), Clive Leeke (England)

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle16:00
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Newcastle vs Stade FrancaisTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 NewcastleLondon Welsh vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69
12London Welsh61