Planet Rugby

London Irish

London Irish

Irish focusing on next season

30th March 2014 12:17

Share:

brian smith london irish

In limbo: Brian Smith

Safe from relegation but unable to make the top six, London Irish boss Brian Smith admits attention is turning towards next season.

Irish lost to Harlequins at The Stoop on Saturday but are 20 points clear of bottom club Worcester with four games to go.

With little left to play for, Smith admits the focus is on nurturing players for the future.

Irish also lost George Skivington, Kieran Low and Eamonn Sheridan before kickoff as all three failed late fitness tests, handing a Premiership first start to 18-year-old centre Tom Fowlie.

"We're in limbo now. We're looking up at the table thinking we can maybe catch the next team above us," said Smith.

"We can't do much more than that because there are only four fixtures left, so we're looking at the future.

"Obviously we want to win our home games and be competitive. Of course we want to win, but we also have one eye on next season.

"Giving game time to the younger blokes is part of the long-term plan."

Irish have recruited well for next season, with Tom Court, Tom Guest, Luke Narraway, Geoff Cross and Eoin Griffin all joining the Exiles next season with more to come.

  • London Irish Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Sale vs London Irish14:00
Saturday , November 22
London Irish vs Bath15:00
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Friday , December 26
London Irish vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
London Irish vs Leicester15:00
Sunday , November 9
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London IrishTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • London Irish Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Grenoble 15 - 25 London Irish
Sunday , October 19
London Irish 70 - 14 RovigoLondon Irish vs Rovigo Report
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London IrishExeter vs London Irish Report
Saturday , October 4
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
Saturday , September 27
Leicester 19 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69