Planet Rugby

London Irish

London Irish

Cross' move to London Irish confirmed

25th March 2014 10:51

Share:

Geoff Cross Sctoland training Six Nations 2013

Geoff Cross: Penned a two-year deal

London Irish have bolstered their front-row options for next season by signing Scotland tighthead prop Geoff Cross.

The 31-year-old joins from Edinburgh on a two-year deal having made 130 appearances for the club, scoring six tries.

He has won 28 caps for Scotland and has appeared throughout the 2014 Six Nations. Alongside playing club and international rugby, Cross is now also a qualified medical doctor.

London Irish director of rugby Brian Smith said: "It is great to have a player of Geoff's talent and experience joining our squad next season.

"He is a genuine International tighthead who has performed exceptionally well in the recent Six Nations Championship.

"We will have plenty of competition in the front row next season that will only benefit the squad."

Commenting on his decision to sign for the Exiles, Cross said: "Moving down to London Irish is a fantastic opportunity for me.

"Having met with Brian, discussed the vision of the club and seen the new training facility it was clear to see the intent the club has moving forward.

"Leaving Edinburgh was a difficult decision and I will leave with many fond memories, however I am excited to be moving to Sunbury and look forward to the challenge ahead."

  • London Irish Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Sale vs London Irish14:00
Saturday , November 22
London Irish vs Bath15:00
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Friday , December 26
London Irish vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
London Irish vs Leicester15:00
Sunday , November 9
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London IrishTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • London Irish Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Grenoble 15 - 25 London Irish
Sunday , October 19
London Irish 70 - 14 RovigoLondon Irish vs Rovigo Report
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London IrishExeter vs London Irish Report
Saturday , October 4
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
Saturday , September 27
Leicester 19 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69