Planet Rugby

Harlequins

Harlequins

Ashton accused of heckling Evans

17th May 2014 20:37

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Chris Ashton Saracens Aviva Prem

Controversy: Chris Ashton

Saracens and England winger Chris Ashton was criticised by fans on social media after trying to put off Harlequins kicker Nick Evans.

Ashton was one of Saracens three try scorers in the semi-final victory on Saturday, putting them into the final against Northampton Saints.

But his actions earlier in the contest caused a skirmish between the two teams as they went off for half-time.

Ashton allegedly shouted "Miss it!" at Evans when the former All Black was lining up a conversion for Mike Brown's try, which put Quins into a 17-11 lead at half-time.

Evans didn't falter with the kick despite the distraction, but both coaches were asked about the incident afterwards.

"I didn't see that, genuinely," said Saracens boss Mark McCall.

"I was in the changing room having a nervous breakdown."

"Humility is up on the walls here and around the stadium, and honesty," said Harlequins director of rugby Conor O'Shea.

"It wasn't part of what you would expect someone to do, but we leave it. They are worthy finalists, worthy winners. Move on."

  • Harlequins Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 4
Harlequins vs London Welsh15:00
Friday , October 10
Leicester vs Harlequins19:45
Friday , November 14
Gloucester vs Harlequins19:45
Friday , November 21
Harlequins vs Sale19:45
Friday , November 28
Bath vs Harlequins19:45
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Harlequins vs Northampton15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 17
Harlequins vs Castres19:45
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Harlequins Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 28
Exeter 36 - 13 HarlequinsExeter vs Harlequins Report
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins 26 - 23 WaspsHarlequins vs Wasps Report
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
Saturday , September 6
London Irish 15 - 20 Harlequins
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
7Gloucester410
8Leicester Tigers410
9Harlequins48
10Sale Sharks47
11Newcastle Falcons41