Planet Rugby

Harlequins

Harlequins

Ashton accused of heckling Evans

17th May 2014 20:37

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Chris Ashton Saracens Aviva Prem

Controversy: Chris Ashton

Saracens and England winger Chris Ashton was criticised by fans on social media after trying to put off Harlequins kicker Nick Evans.

Ashton was one of Saracens three try scorers in the semi-final victory on Saturday, putting them into the final against Northampton Saints.

But his actions earlier in the contest caused a skirmish between the two teams as they went off for half-time.

Ashton allegedly shouted "Miss it!" at Evans when the former All Black was lining up a conversion for Mike Brown's try, which put Quins into a 17-11 lead at half-time.

Evans didn't falter with the kick despite the distraction, but both coaches were asked about the incident afterwards.

"I didn't see that, genuinely," said Saracens boss Mark McCall.

"I was in the changing room having a nervous breakdown."

"Humility is up on the walls here and around the stadium, and honesty," said Harlequins director of rugby Conor O'Shea.

"It wasn't part of what you would expect someone to do, but we leave it. They are worthy finalists, worthy winners. Move on."

  • Harlequins Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Gloucester vs Harlequins19:45
Friday , November 21
Harlequins vs Sale19:45
Friday , November 28
Bath vs Harlequins19:45
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Harlequins vs Northampton15:00
Sunday , January 4
London Welsh vs Harlequins14:30
Saturday , January 10
Harlequins vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs HarlequinsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Harlequins Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 17
Harlequins 25 - 9 CastresHarlequins vs Castres Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Friday , October 10
Leicester 22 - 16 HarlequinsLeicester vs Harlequins Report
Saturday , October 4
Harlequins 52 - 0 London Welsh
Sunday , September 28
Exeter 36 - 13 Harlequins
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
Saturday , September 6
London Irish 15 - 20 Harlequins
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
5Wasps615
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612