Planet Rugby

Harlequins

Harlequins

Ashton accused of heckling Evans

17th May 2014 20:37

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Chris Ashton Saracens Aviva Prem

Controversy: Chris Ashton

Saracens and England winger Chris Ashton was criticised by fans on social media after trying to put off Harlequins kicker Nick Evans.

Ashton was one of Saracens three try scorers in the semi-final victory on Saturday, putting them into the final against Northampton Saints.

But his actions earlier in the contest caused a skirmish between the two teams as they went off for half-time.

Ashton allegedly shouted "Miss it!" at Evans when the former All Black was lining up a conversion for Mike Brown's try, which put Quins into a 17-11 lead at half-time.

Evans didn't falter with the kick despite the distraction, but both coaches were asked about the incident afterwards.

"I didn't see that, genuinely," said Saracens boss Mark McCall.

"I was in the changing room having a nervous breakdown."

"Humility is up on the walls here and around the stadium, and honesty," said Harlequins director of rugby Conor O'Shea.

"It wasn't part of what you would expect someone to do, but we leave it. They are worthy finalists, worthy winners. Move on."

  • Harlequins Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins vs WaspsHarlequins vs Wasps Preview
Sunday , September 28
Exeter vs Harlequins14:00
Saturday , October 4
Harlequins vs London Welsh15:00
Friday , October 10
Leicester vs Harlequins19:45
Saturday , November 15
Gloucester vs Harlequins15:00
Saturday , November 22
Harlequins vs Sale15:00
Saturday , November 29
Bath vs Harlequins15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 17
Harlequins vs Castres19:45
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Harlequins Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 SaracensHarlequins vs Saracens Report
Saturday , September 6
London Irish 15 - 20 HarlequinsLondon Irish vs Harlequins Report
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
7London Irish25
8Gloucester35
9Harlequins24
10Sale Sharks22
11Newcastle Falcons21