Planet Rugby

Harlequins

Harlequins

Brown handed top player award

21st March 2014 14:38

Share:

Mike Brown celeb v Italy

Rewarded: Mike Brown

England full-back Mike Brown has been named Six Nations Player of the Championship, it's been announced.

Brown claimed the gong after receiving 34 percent of the public's 23,408 votes, finishing ahead of second-placed Ireland centre Brian O'Driscoll.

Ireland wing Andrew Trimble came third, Jonny Sexton was fourth, Rob Kearney finished fifth, Dave Denton was sixth and Danny Care seventh.

Brown scored four tries, beat 25 defenders from 65 carries and gained over 540 metres.

"I'd like to say a massive thank you to everyone who voted for me to be RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championship. I'm extremely grateful and proud to win this award, particularly as it's decided by the supporters," said the Harlequin.

"It was disappointing not to win the tournament overall but congratulations to Ireland, and I'm sure we'll come back stronger next season.

"Finally a big thank you to all my team mates, backroom staff, and coaches for all the help they've given me through the tournament. I couldn't perform on the field without them and it's great to have that support."

England head coach Stuart Lancaster added: "Congratulations to Mike for winning this accolade. He's been consistently strong for us throughout the competition and put in some outstanding performances.

"I am very proud of what Mike and the whole squad - players, coaches and management - have achieved this RBS 6 Nations. We are really looking forward to building on this as we head to New Zealand in the summer for our tour."

  • Harlequins Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Gloucester vs Harlequins19:45
Friday , November 21
Harlequins vs Sale19:45
Friday , November 28
Bath vs Harlequins19:45
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Harlequins vs Northampton15:00
Sunday , January 4
London Welsh vs Harlequins14:30
Saturday , January 10
Harlequins vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs HarlequinsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Harlequins Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 17
Harlequins 25 - 9 CastresHarlequins vs Castres Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Friday , October 10
Leicester 22 - 16 HarlequinsLeicester vs Harlequins Report
Saturday , October 4
Harlequins 52 - 0 London Welsh
Sunday , September 28
Exeter 36 - 13 Harlequins
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
Saturday , September 6
London Irish 15 - 20 Harlequins
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
5Wasps615
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612