Planet Rugby

Gloucester

Gloucester

Gloucester win Premiership Rugby 7s

09th August 2014 10:49

Share:

Gloucester player Steph Reynolds

Starred: Steph Reynolds

Gloucester wrapped up back-to-back Premiership Rugby 7s titles on Friday as they overcame the Dragons in the final played at the Twickenham Stoop.

Steph Reynolds was the star of the show as the Cherry and Whites beat Northampton, Cardiff Blues and then the Dragons in the big finale.

Reynolds and Henry Purdy scored in the 12-5 result, with the next competition on their radar being Saturday's World Club 7s at Twickenham.

"Hopefully we can take this momentum and confidence into the World Club 7s," said head coach Olly Morgan, looking ahead to next week.

"We'll be losing a few players to the first team but it's a chance for the even younger guys to make a name for themselves.

"It will be a tough task for the boys but we'll see what squad we've got and I'm confident in their abilities.

"It's a huge achievement for the club to get the first piece of silverware of the season. Whether it was back-to-back or not it didn't really matter, it's the fact that it's a new management, a new set-up and new players and hopefully this sets us up for a successful season.

"I always believed this side was capable of defending the trophy. I saw the way we train and the way we played in the group stages and saw the other games and it was the tournament that we could win if we played to our patterns and our strengths."

  • Gloucester Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Saturday , December 20
Gloucester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , January 3
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , February 14
Leicester vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , February 21
Gloucester vs London Welsh15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Gloucester vs Ospreys15:00
Saturday , February 7
Gloucester vs Harlequins15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Sunday , December 7
Gloucester vs Zebre15:15
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Gloucester Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 21
Newcastle Falcons 20 - 10 GloucesterNewcastle Falcons vs Gloucester Report
Friday , November 14
Gloucester 15 - 22 HarlequinsGloucester vs Harlequins Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
London Welsh 9 - 18 Gloucester
Saturday , November 1
Exeter 28 - 27 Gloucester
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Oyonnax 15 - 25 Gloucester
Thursday , October 16
Gloucester 55 - 0 Brive
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 Gloucester
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
7Sale Sharks820
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816
10Newcastle Falcons813
11London Irish812