Zeilinga kicks Sharks past Lions

Date published: October 3 2014

Fred Zeilinga kicked seven penalties to help the Sharks edge the Golden Lions 26-23 in a tight Currie Cup clash in Durban on Friday.

Replacement back Fred Zeilinga kicked seven penalties to help the Sharks edge the Golden Lions 26-23 in a tight Currie Cup clash in Durban on Friday.

The Lions outscored their hosts two tries to one, but Zeilinga’s late penalty saw the Sharks prevail.

The Golden Lions led 13-11 at half-time thanks to an intercept try from wing Ruan Combrinck and a couple of penalties from Marnitz Boshoff, who moved to full-back in a late change to the team.

The Sharks though had taken the early lead via a try from centre Andre Esterhuizen but it was his yellow card for leading into contact with an elbow that handed the initiative back to the visitors.

Zeilinga kicked four penalties after the restart to go with two just before the break to put the Sharks 20-13 ahead with half an hour left on the clock.

Boshoff and Zeilinga then traded penalties before inside centre Stokkies Hanekom added the Golden Lions’ second try, with Boshoff’s conversion levelling the scores in the 65th minute.

However it would be Zeilinga who had the final say as he landed the match-winning points in the 72nd minute after flanker Derick Minnie had been harshly sin-binned for a ruck offence.

The game was entertaining until the end though as the Lions showed their hunger in not being satisfied with a losing bonus-point, which could prove vital in the knockout shake-up.

The scorers:

For Sharks:
Try: Esterhuizen
Pens: Zeilinga 7
Yellow card: Esterhuizen

For Golden Lions:
Tries: Combrinck, Hanekom
Cons: Boshoff 2
Pens: Boshoff 2
Yellow card: Minnie

Sharks: 15 SP Marais, 14 S’bura Sithole, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Tera Mtembu (c), 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Marco Wentzel, 4 Stephan Lewies, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Thomas du Toit.
Replacements: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Matt Stevens, 19 JC Astle, 20 Khaya Majola, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Fred Zeilinga.

Golden Lions: 15 Marnitz Boshoff, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe (c), 12 Stokkies Hanekom, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Martin Muller, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Julian Redelinghuys, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Derick Minnie, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Mark Richards, 22 Howard Mnisi.

Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Referee: Lesego Legoete
Assistant Referees: Oregopotse Rametsi, Stefan Breytenbach
TMO: Jason Jaftha