Zebre nilled by Edinburgh

Date published: April 1 2016

A much-improved second half display helped Edinburgh maintain their PRO12 playoff hopes after a 29-0 triumph over Zebre.

In a dire opening period, a Jason Tovey penalty was the only score as the hosts went into a 3-0 lead at the interval.

But they increased the intensity after the break and touched down through Damien Hoyland (twice), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne and Alex Toolis for a bonus-point victory.

It was another disappointing defeat for the Italian outfit but, despite once again struggling this season, they are still favourites to secure Champions Cup qualification.

Sitting in 11th place, they still reside above countrymen Treviso and the visitors opened this game determined to cement their position in the table.

They had the better opportunities in the first few minutes but the hosts resisted their efforts and soon got themselves on the front foot.

However, Edinburgh struggled to put anything tangible on the scoreboard with the exception of a penalty from Tovey who, on his debut, slotted a long-range kick.

Mike Allen did have a try ruled out for a forward pass while Zebre also thought they had gone over, but the half ended with just a solitary three-pointer separating the sides.

The second period was much better for the hosts and Hoyland sent them on their way when he displayed excellent awareness and skills to cross the whitewash.

A second score was soon forthcoming for the winger, who showed his finishing instincts once again, before the hosts got to within one try of a bonus-point through Hidalgo-Clyne.

The decisive moment eventually came as Toolis barged over the line for the potentially crucial fourth try.


The scorers: 

For Edinburgh: 
Tries: Hoyland 2, Hidalgo-Clyne, A Toolis
Cons: Tovey 3
Pen: Tovey

Edinburgh: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Damien Hoyland, 13 Michael Allen, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Tom Brown, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Sean Kennedy, 8 Cornell Du Preez, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Mike Coman (c), 5 Ben Toolis, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson 
Replacements: 16 Stuart Mcinally, 17 Allan Dell, 18 John Andress, 19 Alex Toolis, 20 Magnus Bradbury, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyn, 22 Chris Dean 23 Will Helu

Zebre: 15 Kayle Van Zyl, 14 Ulrich Beyers, 13 Tommaso Boni, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Leonardo Sarto, 10 Kelly Haimona, 9 Guglielmo Palazzani, 8 Johan Meyer, 7 Federico Ruzza, 6 Jean Cook, 5 Marco Bortolami, 4 Quintin Geldenhuys (c), 3 Dario Chistolini, 2 Oliviero Fabiani, 1 Andrea Lovotti 
Replacements: 16 Bruno Postiglioni, 17 Guillermo Roan, 18 Pietro Ceccarelli, 19 Gideon Koegelenberg , 20 Emiliano Caffini, 21 Luke Burgess, 22 Carlo Canna, 23 Giulio Bisegni

Referee: Leighton Hodges (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Sam Grove-White (Scotland), Graeme Ormiston (Scotland)
TMO: Charles Samson (Scotland)