WP make one change for Pumas

Date published: September 23 2014

Western Province coach Allister Coetzee has made just one change for his starting XV for Friday’s clash with the Pumas in Nelspruit.

The 2012 Currie Cup winners and 2013 finalists, will take on the Pumas at the Mbombela Stadium with vice-captain Pat Cilliers back at tighthead prop and Brok Harris moving down to the bench.

Scrum-half Nic Groom and utility back Michael van der Spuy will join Harris amongst the replacements this week, with coach Coetzee once again reverting to a more traditional four/three split (forwards/backs) on his bench.

That means that prop Oli Kebble misses out, after making his Currie Cup debut from the bench against Griquas at Newlands last Saturday, whilst Godlen Masimla also drops out this week now that Groom is back to full fitness.

Western Province: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (c), 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Justin Geduld, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Manuel Carizza, 19 Rohan Kitshoff, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Michael van der Spuy.

Date: Friday, September 26
Kick-off: 19:00 local (18:00 BST, 17:00 GMT)
Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Referees: Christie du Preez, Stefan Breytenbach