Wins for Edinburgh and Montpellier

Date published: November 20 2015

Edinburgh made it two wins from two in this season's Challenge Cup as they overcame Agen 27-6 at Stade Armandie on Friday.

Once again number eight Cornell du Preez was among the try scorers as he went over just after half-time, following a first-half penalty try and the boot of Greig Tonks' which gave the in-form Scots a 13-0 advantage at the turnaround.

Agen did add a couple of penalties from captain Clement Darbo to reduce the gap but when openside John Hardie went over on 69 minutes the result was beyond doubt, with only a lack of a bonus-point a minor negative for Edinburgh.

The scorers:

For Agen:
Pen: Darbo 2

For Edinburgh:
Tries: Penalty try, Du Preez, Hardie
Con: Tonks 3
Pen: Tonks 2

Agen: 15 François Tardieu, 14 Leka Tagotago, 13 Pierre Fouyssac, 12 Julien Heriteau, 11 Filipo Nakosi, 10 François Bouvier, 9 Clement Darbo (c), 8 Marc Baget. 7 Antoine Miquel, 6 Sione Tau, 5 Léo Bastien, 4 Jean-Baptiste Roidot, 3 Nicolas Chocou, 2 Marc Barthomeuf, 1 Quentin Bethune.
Replacements: 16 Florian Dufour, 17 Viliamu Afatia, 18 Dave Ryan, 19 Corentin Braendlin, 20 Felicien Vergnon, 21 Baptiste Cadiou, 22 Timothé Guillimin, 23 Benoit Sicart.

Edinburgh: 15 Dougie Fife, 14 Tom Brown, 13 William Helu, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Otulea Katoa 10 Greig Tonks, 9 Sean Kennedy, 8 Cornell Du Preez, 7 John Hardie, 6 Nasi Manu, 5 Fraser McKenzie, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ross Ford (c), 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Replacements: 16 Neil Cochrane, 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 Simon Berghan, 19 Alex Toolis, 20 Jamie Ritchie, 21 Nathan Fowles, 22 Blair Kinghorn, 23 Chris Dean.

Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Nigel Correll (Ireland), Mark Connolly (Ireland)
Assessor: Eric Darriere (France)

Despite the recent uncertainty surrounding their head coach Jake White, Montpellier put in a clinical performance as they beat Calvisano 64-0.

The win at Altrad Stadium saw Montpol bounce back from last week's loss to Harlequins, with ten tries scored in a dominant victory on Friday.

Marvin O'Connor, Benoit Paillaugue, Paul Willemse, Kelian Galletier, a penalty try, Ben Mowen, Anthony Tuitavake, Julien Malzieu, Robert Ebersohn and Yvan Reilhac provided the points while Paillaugue and Demetri Catrakilis contributed off the kicking tee in a fine showing.

The scorers:

For Montpellier:
Tries: O'Connor, Paillaugue, Willemse, Galletier, Penalty try, Mowen, Tuitavake, Malzieu, Ebersohn, Reilhac
Con: Paillaugue 4, Catrakilis 3

Montpellier: 15 Benjamin Fall, 14 Julien Malzieu, 13 Anthony Tuitavake, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Marvin O'Connor, 10 Francois Trinh-Duc, 9 Benoit Paillaugue, 8 Kelian Galletier, 7 Ben Mowen, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo (c), 5 Thibaut Privat, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Mickael Ivaldi, 1 Mikheil Nariashvili.
Replacements: 16 Charles Geli, 17 CJ Van Der Linde, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Robins Tchale Watchou, 20 Akapusi Qera, 21 Nic White, 22 Demetri Catrakilis, 23 Yvan Reilhac.

Calvisano: 15 Matteo Minozzi, 14 Ben De Jager, 13 Alberto Chiesa, 12 Tommy Castello (c), 11 Marco Susio; 10 Filippo Buscema, 9 Riccardo Raffaele, 8 Jim Tuivaiti, 7 Maxime Mbanda, 6 Alessio Zdrilich, 5 Davide Zanetti, 4 Agustin Cavalieri, 3 Salvatore Costanzo, 2 Lorenzo Giovanchelli, 1 Sami Panico.
Replacements: 16 Gabriele Morelli, 17 Elia Violi, 18 Rudy Biancotti, 19 Luca Beccaris, 20 Matteo Archetti, 21 Renato Giammarioli, 22 Giacomo De Santis, 23 Daniele Di Giulio.

Referee: Tom Foley (England)