Win but no bonus for Stormers

Date published: May 23 2015

The Stormers returned to the top of the South African Super Rugby conference on Saturday with a 31-15 win over the Rebels at Newlands.

While the Stormers will welcome four invaluable tournament points, they will rue missing out of a bonus point that was well within their reach.

The result takes the Stormers two points clear of the Lions at the summit of the South African conference but they trail Aussie leaders the Waratahs by three, with the tournament-leading Hurricanes well out of reach.

As expected, the Stormers pack ruled in the slippery conditions and their domination at scrum time laid the platform for the home side to outscore their visitors three tries to two with wing Dillyn Leyds touching down on either side of the break.

Two of the Stormers' tries came from opposition mistakes though, once again underlining the limitations of their attacking play.

The hosts led 18-7 at the interval thanks to tries by centre Damian de Allende and Leyds while the Rebels were still in the contest thanks to centre Dom Shipperley's try.

Leyds' second try ensured the Stormers had a buffer in the second half, meaning the Rebels were always going to struggle to get back into it, despite wing Tom English scoring.

De Allende was first to cross as the profited from Mitch Inman shooting up out the Rebels defensive line, to slip through the gap and race home for a quality try.

Demetri Catrakilis added the conversion to go with his earlier penalty and the Stormers were looking comfortable at 10-0.

The Rebels replied soon thereafter as Shipperley crossed for a 45m try after Scott Fuglistaller broke through midfield.

Leyds intercepted a horrible pass from Rebels hooker Pat Leafa inside his own 22, allowing the Stormers wing to score untouched on the stroke of halftime.

Leyds scored again as a huge Stormers scrum had the Rebels defence back pedaling meaning Duane Vermeulen could break off and charge forward to put his winger into space.

English scored on the counter punch but another penalty from Catrakilis kept the visitors out of reach.

The scorers:

For Stormers:
Tries: De Allende, Leyds 2
Cons: Catrakilis 2
Pens: Catrakilis 4

For Rebels:
Tries: Shipperley, English
Cons: Harris
Pens: Debreczeni

Stormers: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Duane Vermeulen (c), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Nic Groom, 22 Kurt Coleman, 23 Huw Jones.

Melbourne Rebels: 15 Mike Harris, 14 Cam Crawford, 13 Dom Shipperley, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Nic Stirzaker, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Lopeti Timani, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Cruze Ah-Nau.
Replacements: 16 Tom Sexton, 17 Keita Inagaki, 18 Laurie Weeks, 19 Cadeyrn Neville, 20 Jordy Reid, 21 Colby Fainga’a, 22 Luke Burgess, 23 Bryce Hegarty.

Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant referees: Quinton Immelman, Rodney Boneparte
Television match official: Deon van Blommestein