Western Province unchanged

Date published: August 13 2015

Western Province head coach John Dobson has named an unchanged starting line-up for Saturday's Currie Cup clash against the Free State Cheetahs at Newlands.

Dobson has kept faith with the starting line-up that were on duty against Griquas last weekend, but lock Jan de Klerk and back Kobus van Wyk come on to the bench against the Cheetahs.

De Klerk replaces Chris van Zyl in a rotational switch, whilst Van Wyk comes in for Johnny Kotze who took a bang to his head at training on Monday.

Dobson said: "We have a plan, in terms of game time for certain players moving forward. But, at the same time, we need some continuity in our team and (our) performances, so we have retained the same starting line-up from last week with just those two changes on the bench.

"I said after last week's Griquas game that we need to make an improvement and we have worked on those issues – most notably our discipline – during the week and we hope to put that in place against the Cheetahs.

"Forget the Cheetahs' loss to the Bulls (last week) – it was a freakish game in many way. The Cheetahs are always a tough team and they're always up for playing against Province at Newlands – it tends to raise their game in a way too."

Dobson will be in charge of the senior Western Province Currie Cup team at their Newlands home for the first time in his coaching career and he is looking forward to the experience this weekend.

"For me, having grown up in the Cape, it truly is a big honour to be coaching the senior Currie Cup team at this historic ground of ours," he said.

Western Province: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Juan de Jongh (c), 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.
Replacements: 16 Marius Fourie, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Jan de Klerk, 19 Chris Cloete, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Kobus van Wyk

Date: Saturday, August 15
Venue: Newlands Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off: 15:00 local (13:00 GMT)
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Referees: AJ Jacobs, Rodney Boneparte
TMO: Willie Vos