Western Force name squad for SA tour

Date published: May 2 2014

The Western Force have named a 26-man squad that will travel to South Africa to face the Cheetahs and the Stormers.

Western Force boss Michael Foley has named a 26-man squad that will travel to South Africa for matches against the Cheetahs and the Stormers.

Foley has included the matchday squad that defeated the Bulls last weekend, and added lock Phoenix Battye, outside back Patrick Dellit and flyhalf/centre Luke Burton.

Both Dellit and Battye were a part of the Western Force squad that took on the Rebels in Melbourne a fortnight ago, while Burton re-joins the team from the Australian U20 squad.

The 20-year-old, who is yet to make his Super Rugby debut, was vice-captain and starting inside centre for Australia's U20 side that defeated Samoa on Wednesday. This will be Perth-born Burton's first tour with the Western Force squad.

Foley says the two-match tour provides a significant challenge for his team.

“The Bulls provided some insight into the next block of games,” he told the Western Force's official website.

“However, while we can expect more mauling and clever strategic kicking, the Cheetahs will also play with a lot of width and the Stormers are noted for their defence.

“Playing four South African sides back-to-back is a great challenge for us. The games will be physical and we will need to play with the intensity we achieved in the Waratahs and Bulls games.

“We're pleased to welcome Phoenix and Paddy back into the squad to provide coverage in the second row and outside backs respectively.

“This is also a great opportunity for Luke to be a part of the Force touring squad for the first time. He joins us from the Australian Under 20's camp and has earnt his selection through the hard work he's undertaken with the squad over the last 18 months.”

The Force will depart on Saturday before taking on the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Saturday,May 10 and the Stormers at Cape Town's Newlands Stadium on Saturday, May 17.

Western Force squad:
Phoenix Battye, Marcel Brache, Luke Burton, Nathan Charles, Adam Coleman, Angus Cottrell, Pek Cowan, Nick Cummins, Patrick Dellit, Sias Ebersohn, Tetera Faulkner, Kyle Godwin, Dane Haylett-Petty, Jayden Hayward, Matt Hodgson (c), Zack Holmes, Oliver Hoskins, Kieran Longbottom, Ben McCalman, Ian Prior, Brynard Stander, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Heath Tessmann, Chris Tuatara-Morrison, Justin Turner, Sam Wykes.