Welsh derby win for Ospreys

Date published: December 27 2014

Dan Biggar edged the penalty battle with Steve Shingler as the Ospreys won the Welsh derby 17-15 over the Scarlets.

Ospreys took the lead at half-time with two tries for Aisea Natoga and Dan Lydiate and a penalty for Biggar.

The visitors trailed after the first 40 having not managed to find the try line, instead scoring three penalties, one courtesy of Rhys Priestland and the other two from Steve Shingler, the score 17-9 at half-time.

The home side claimed no points in the second half but fortunately for them, it did not cost them the game.

Scarlets’ Shingler claimed two further penalties in the second half but it was still not enough to claim a victory, with Ospreys winning the all-Welsh derby 17-15.

Scarlets opened the scoring with a penalty for Priestland but it was soon followed by a yellow card for his team-mate Kristian Phillips. The home side took advantage of the extra man with a successful penalty for Biggar to bring the scores level.

Shingler took over the kicking duties for Scarlets and added another penalty to put them back in the lead.

Ospreys then had a try disallowed before the TMO finally granted Natoga the try in the 28th minute.

It was another decision sent upstairs by referee Marius Mitrea before Ospreys’ second try was allowed after Lydiate drove the ball over from the scrum.

Scarlets claimed another penalty shortly before half time to bring the score to 17-9 at half-time.

Early on in the second half, Biggar missed what could have been a crucial penalty for the Ospreys.

Shingler added two further penalties for the Scarlets to bring them to within only two points of the home side and Biggar’s earlier miss now seemed even more significant.

However, despite a spirited Scarlets fightback, the Ospreys kept them out and claimed the win.

The scorers:

For Ospreys:
Tries: Natoga, Lydiate
Cons: Biggar 2
Pen: Biggar

For Scarlets:
Pen: Priestland, S Shingler 4
Yellow Card: Phillips

Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Hanno Dirksen, 13 Ashley Beck, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Eli Walker, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Tyler Ardron, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (c), 4 James King, 3 Dmitri Arhip, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Marc Thomas.
Replacements: 16 Sam Parry, 17 Gareth Thomas, 18 Daniel Suter, 19 Rynier Bernardo, 20 Sam Lewis, 21 Martin Roberts, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Aisea Natoga.

Scarlets: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Harry Robinson, 13 Regan King, 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 Kristian Phillips, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Aled Davies, 8 Rory Pitman, 7 John Barclay (c), 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 George Earle, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Emyr Phillips, 1 Rob Evans.
Replacements: 16 Kirby Myhill, 17 Wyn Jones, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Lewis Rawlins, 20 Will Boyde, 21 Rhodri Williams, 22 Steven Shingler, 23 Steffan Hughes.

Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
>Assistant Referees: Wayne Davies (Wales), Jon Mason (Wales)
TMO: Derek Bevan (Wales)