Wasps to move on after referee mistake

Date published: December 19 2016

Wasps have issued a response to EPCR’s statement after the referee allowed a Connacht line out to take place after 80 minutes.

Connacht fly-half Jack Carty snatched a dramatic 20-18 victory for Connacht over Wasps with the final kick of the game at the Sportsground.

The EPCR said in the statement that the wrong decision was made.

“Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby’s Laws of the Game.”

Wasps have since replied to the statement saying that they expect better refereeing from the European Rugby Champions Cup match officials but that they will be moving on.

“Wasps clarified that a mistake was made by match officials in Wasps’ game against Connacht on Saturday, when Connacht were allowed to take a lineout after time had elapsed, that resulted in the winning try.

“Wasps’ pitchside officials immediately stressed to the fourth official that Connacht could not take the lineout, as the referee had indicated time had gone beyond 80 minutes. Wasps’ players on the pitch also emphasised to the referee that time was up. Despite several protests, the lineout was still allowed to be taken.

“We all understand referees are only human and mistakes do occasionally happen. However, for a referee and fourth official to get the laws of the game wrong at a crucial stage of a big match is hugely disappointing. The error made could have serious repercussions in terms of Wasps’ qualification hopes or the prospect of securing a home quarter final.

“EPCR have stated that the result stands. We congratulate Connacht after a hard fought contest and we will now move on to the final rounds, after tough Premiership games against Bath, Newcastle and Leicester Tigers.”

COMMENTS