Wasps beat Bath to go third

Date published: February 20 2016

Wasps moved up to third spot in the Premiership standings after they beat Bath at the Recreation Ground, running out 24-18 winners on Saturday.

A dominant performance from Wasps was backed up by two tries from Frank Halai and another from Simon McIntyre.

A last minute try from Amanaki Mafi secured a losing bonus-point for the hosts, with Tom Homer also touching down earlier on in the half. 

Wasps centre Elliot Daly opened the scoring after five minutes, driving his kick through the wind and rain from 40 metres.

Ruaridh Jackson and Daly both missed attempts at the posts before a strong run from full-back Charles Piutau was finished off by Halai, who pushed himself through two defenders to touch down. Jackson failed to convert.

In the final ten minutes of the first half, Rhys Priestland scored six points for Bath from the tee, taking the sides in at half-time with the score at 6-8.

With 48 minutes on the clock, Daly chipped the ball over the Bath defence, and as Homer failed to nudge the ball in to touch, it bobbled along the sideline before Halai pounced on it to score his second try of the game. Jackson failed to convert again.

Bath finally got themselves on the front foot, before Wasps went against the run of play to score their third try of the match through loosehead prop McIntyre. Jimmy Gopperth failed to add the extras.

As Bath looked to get a try of their own, Matt Banahan found the gap in the Wasps defence as he tapped the ball through for Homer to run on to. The full-back converted his own try well, with Priestland seemingly injured and off kicking duty.

Gopperth then secured himself some points from the tee, before Bath's Mafi got over the line with the final play of the game after a strong driving maul, to secure a losing bonus point for Bath as their miserable home form continued.

The scorers:

For Bath:
Tries: Homer, Mafi
Con: Homer
Pen: Priestland 2

For Wasps:
Tries: Halai 2, McIntyre
Pen: Daly, Jackson, Gopperth

Bath: 15 Tom Homer, 14 Semesa Rokoduguni, 13 Matt Banahan, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Chris Cook, 8 Amanaki Mafi, 7 Francois Louw (c), 6 Leroy Houston, 5 Dominic Day, 4 Charlie Ewels, 3 David Wilson, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Max Lahiff
Replacements: 16 Ross Batty, 17 Beno Obano, 18 Henry Thomas, 19 Matt Garvey, 20 Guy Mercer, 21 Jonathan Evans, 22 Jeff Williams, 23 Max Clark

Wasps: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Siale Piutau, 11 Frank Halai, 10 Ruaridh Jackson, 9 Dan Robson, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 George Smith (c), 6 Thomas Young, 5 Kearnan Myall, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 2 Ashley Johnson, 1 Simon McIntyre
Replacements: 16 Carlo Festuccia, 17 Tom Bristow, 18 Lorenzo Cittadini, 19 James Cannon, 20 Alex Rieder, 21 Jamie Stevenson, 22 Jimmy Gopperth, 23 Rob Miller

Referee: Thomas Foley
Assistant Referees: Greg Macdonald, Nigel Carrick
TMO: Graham Hughes