Wallabies release quartet to World XV

Date published: August 10 2015

Australia have released squad players Sean McMahon, Christian Lealiifano, Nick Cummins and Taqele Naiyaravoro to play for a World XV.

The quartet will face Japan in Tokyo, joining the likes of James O'Connor and Ben Alexander for Robbie Deans' side.

Meanwhile Samu Kerevi and Dave Dennis will join the 30-man Wallabies squad today as the Wallabies prepare for their upcoming match against New Zealand in Auckland.

In total there will be 14 Australian internationals joining the World XV squad this week, with players searching for valuable game time before Rugby World Cup selection later this month.

Australia head coach Michael Cheika said: “We've travelled with an extended squad throughout the 2015 international season, so it's good for the players to get some quality game time in against a strong opponent like Japan.

"David and Samu have spent some time with us throughout our campaign this season, and we are looking forward to seeing their progress."

Wallabies Squad for New Zealand

Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Quade Cooper, David Dennis, Scott Fardy, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Matt Giteau, Greg Holmes, Michael Hooper, James Horwill, Sekope Kepu, Samu Kerevi, Tevita Kuridrani, Stephen Moore, Drew Mitchell, Ben McCalman, Dean Mumm, Wycliff Palu, Nick Phipps, David Pocock, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Scott Sio, Will Skelton, James Slipper, Toby Smith, Henry Speight, Matt Toomua, Joe Tomane, Nic White

Australian Super Rugby and Wallabies players in World XV to play Japan on Saturday August 15 at Prince Chichibu Memorial Rugby Ground in Tokyo:

James O’Connor, Luke Burgess, Nick Cummins, Mike Harris, Christian Lealiifano, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Dom Shipperley, Ben Tapuai, Ben Alexander, Liam Gill, Luke Jones, Tolu Latu, Sean McMahon, Benn Robinson