Wallabies open against All Blacks

Date published: December 3 2013

The Rugby Championship 2014 schedule has been released, with Australia opening against New Zealand back-to-back.

The Rugby Championship 2014 schedule has been released, with Australia opening against New Zealand back-to-back.

The Wallabies will host two of next year's Bledisloe Cup matches on Australian soil. In 2014 the three-Test Bledisloe series will culminate at the Wallabies' fortress, Suncorp Stadium, in Brisbane on Saturday 18 October.

The All Blacks will play home matches in Auckland, Napier and Wellington, with the Springboks opting to play in Pretoria, Cape Town and Johannesburg.

Games hosted by the Wallabies will take place in Sydney, Perth and on the Gold Coast, with Argentina's home venues yet to be confirmed.

“We have seen this year how fans in the Auckland and Wellington regions filled their respective grounds and we are hopeful of bumper crowds again next year for what will be terrific Test encounters,” said NRZU CEO Steve Tew.

“This year's Championship started after new coach, Ewen McKenzie had only just jumped on board and followed an enormous Lions Tour, so next year will be very interesting,” said ARU CEO Bill Pulver.

“We've won four of the five Tests on the Spring Tour and we're confident of seeing that trend continue next year.

“The Rugby Championship offers fans the chance to see some of the best international rugby sides go head to head so it's great to see matches against the Springboks and passionate Pumas returning to Perth and the Gold Coast.”

New Zealand will look to win their third successive Rugby Championship title, after going unbeaten throughout the competition in 2013.

The Rugby Championship 2014 Schedule:

Saturday 16 August:

Australia v New Zealand, ANZ Stadium, Sydney
South Africa v Argentina, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Saturday 23 August:

New Zealand v Australia, Eden Park, Auckland
Argentina v South Africa, TBC, Argentina

Saturday 6 September:

Australia v South Africa, Patersons Stadium, Perth
New Zealand v Argentina, McLean Park, Napier

Saturday 13 September:

Australia v Argentina, Skilled Park, Gold Coast
New Zealand v South Africa, Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Saturday 27 September:

South Africa v Australia, DHL Newlands, Cape Town
Argentina v New Zealand, TBC, Argentina

Saturday 4 October:

South Africa v New Zealand, Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Argentina v Australia, TBC, Argentina

Third Bledisloe Cup Test:

Saturday 18 October:

Australia v New Zealand, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane