Wales recall Warburton, Jenkins

Date published: February 5 2014

Wales have recalled both Sam Warburton and Gethin Jenkins to their starting line-up that will face Ireland at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday.

Wales have recalled Sam Warburton and Gethin Jenkins to their starting line-up that will take on Ireland at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin on Saturday.

Warburton and Jenkins are two of three changes to the XV as second-row Andrew Coombs also comes in, replacing the injured Luke Charteris.

Jenkins comes into the front-row and will win his 102nd Wales cap at the Aviva Stadium alongside Richard Hibbard and Adam Jones (both Ospreys).

Warburton, who featured off the bench against the Azzurri, starts at alongside Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau. Since making his Six Nations debut at the Aviva Stadium in 2012 Faletau has started every match in the competition for Wales.

The backline remains unchanged for the game.

Full-back Leigh Halfpenny will win his 50th cap aged just 25. He again lines up in a back three alongside Alex Cuthbert and George North for a twelfth straight time in the Six Nations.

Try scorer at the Millennium Stadium last Saturday, Scott Williams, and Jamie Roberts continue their partnership in the midfield, with Rhys Priestland and Mike Phillips featuring at half-back.

“It's great to bring Sam and Gethin back into the side and it's a good opportunity for Andrew Coombs to start as well,” said head coach Warren Gatland.

“Last weekend was a good hit out for a lot of reasons, but we still have things to work on and we know how important this game is.

“We haven't lost an away match in the Six Nations since 2011 and we have to have the belief and confidence that we can do it again this weekend.

“It's going to be tough, both sides won their opening game, we will have to be physical and take it to them.

“We feel in most tournaments we get stronger as it goes on and that will need to be the case this weekend.”

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Scott Williams, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun-Wyn Jones (c), 4 Andrew Coombs, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Rhys Webb, 22 James Hook, 23 Liam Williams.

Date: Saturday, February 8
Kick-off: 14:30 GMT
Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), JP Doyle (England)
Television match official: Graham Hughes (England)