Wales Probables thrash Possibles

Date published: May 30 2014

Friday's Wales trial match turned out to be a one-sided affair as the 'Probables' crushed the 'Possibles' 55-7 at the Liberty Stadium.

Friday's Wales trial match turned out to be a one-sided affair as the 'Probables' crushed the 'Possibles' 55-7 at a sold-out Liberty Stadium.

The shadow Test team romped to a comfortable victory, scoring eight tries in the process as Man of the Match Jonathan Davies led the way with a hat-trick while fly half Dan Biggar contributed 20 points.

The Possibles simply couldn't get their hands on the ball as the Probables seized control in the first half by romping over for five unanswered tries to lead 34-0 at the interval.

The only reply from the underdogs came via a try from scrum-half Gareth Davies, who touched down on the hour mark.

Warren Gatland will name the 31-man squad for their two-Test tour of South Africa later on Friday.

There were a few injury concerns for Gatland though. Hooker Ken Owens (knee) and centre Jamie Roberts (shoulder) came off before half-time – precautionary, it appeared – but Samson Lee's shoulder injury looked serious.

The scorers:

For Probables XV:
Tries: JR Williams 2, Biggar, JJV Davies 3, LB Williams, Baldwin
Cons: Biggar 6
Pen: Biggar

For Possibles XV:
Tries: G Davies
Cons: Hook

Wales Probables XV: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Jordan Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Aaron Shingler, 6 Josh Turnbull, 5 Luke Charteris, 4 Alun Wyn Jones (c), 3 Adam Jones, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Gethin Jenkins
Replacements::16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Lewis Evans, 20 Josh Navidi, 21 Rhodri Williams, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Dafydd Hewitt

Wales Possibles XV: 15 Dan Fish, 14 Kristian Phillips, 13 Cory Allen, 12 Steve Shingler, 11 Harry Robinson, 10 James Hook, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Dan Baker, 7 Ellis Jenkins, 6 Andrew Coombs, 5 Ian Evans, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Rhodri Jones, 2 Matthew Rees (c), 1 Rob Evans
Replacements::16 Kristian Dacey, 17 Owen Evans, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Macauley Cook, 20 James Davies, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Matthew Morgan, 23 Jonathan Spratt