Wales names Probables, Possibles XVs

Date published: May 27 2014

Wales have announced their Probables and Possibles XVs for this weekend's trial match ahead of their tour to South Africa.

Wales have announced their Probables and Possibles XVs for this weekend's trial match ahead of their tour to South Africa.

The first national trial in more than a decade will see the two sides battle it out at the Liberty Stadium, in Swansea as they try impress the Wales management ahead of the two-Test tour.

Howley's XV features just one uncapped player in Scarlets wing Jordan Williams, who joins an experienced Probables backline.

British and Irish Lions quartet Mike Phillips, Jamie Roberts, Jonathan Davies and Alex Cuthbert also line-up alongside RaboDirect Pro12 Players' Player of the Year Dan Biggar and Scarlets full-back Liam Williams.

The front-row is made up of 223 Wales caps in the form of Gethin Jenkins (105), Ken Owens (24) and Adam Jones (94).

Captain Alun Wyn Jones partners Luke Charteris in the second-row and in the back-row Scarlets pair Josh Turnbull and Aaron Shingler feature alongside Taulupe Faletau.

The Probables bench includes three uncapped players in Newport Gwent Dragons back-row Lewis Evans, Ospreys' Sam Davies and Cardiff Blues centre Dafydd Hewitt.

Flanker Josh Navidi and scrum-half Rhodri Williams are joined by front-row replacements Scott Baldwin, Samson Lee and Aaron Jarvis.

McBryde's Possibles side features two uncapped players in the starting pack, in Scarlets prop Rob Evans and former Wales U20 skipper Ellis Jenkins.

Evans packs down in the front-row alongside captain Matthew Rees and regional team-mate Rhodri Jones.

Jake Ball who made his international debut in the 2014 Six Nations joins Lion Ian Evans in the second-row whilst Andrew Coombs and Dan Baker feature alongside Jenkins in the back-row.

RaboDirect Pro12 top try scorer Gareth Davies partners James Hook at half-back for the Possibles, with Steven Shingler (facing his brother Aaron) and Cory Allen the midfield pair. Harry Robinson and Kristian Phillips are named on the wings, with Dan Fish at full-back.

The bench features Cardiff Blues front-rows Kristian Dacey and Scott Andrews alongside Dragons' Owen Evans as well as Wales Sevens product, flanker, James Davies (set to face his brother Jonathan) and another former Wales U20 captain Macauley Cook. Ospreys pair Matthew Morgan and Jonathan Spratt are joined by Blues scrum-half Lloyd Williams.

“Friday is a huge opportunity for players and a chance for us to see them go up against each other for the Wales jersey,” said Howley.

“It's something we haven't been able to do for the last decade, but it will be a big night for the players, we want to see them in a pressured environment and that's what we will get on Friday.”

“It's been great to have the squad together, we only have a short time to prepare, but we are up for the challenge and excited by it,” said McBryde.

“We have always said that the door is always open in international rugby and this is an opportunity that doesn't come round very often and the players know it's their chance to impress on a big public stage in front of all the coaches.”

Wales Probables XV: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Jordan Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Aaron Shingler, 6 Josh Turnbull, 5 Luke Charteris, 4 Alun Wyn Jones (c), 3 Adam Jones, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Gethin Jenkins
Replacements: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Lewis Evans, 20 Josh Navidi, 21 Rhodri Williams, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Dafydd Hewitt

Wales Possibles XV: 15 Dan Fish, 14 Kristian Phillips, 13 Cory Allen, 12 Steve Shingler, 11 Harry Robinson, 10 James Hook, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Dan Baker, 7 Ellis Jenkins, 6 Andrew Coombs, 5 Ian Evans, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Rhodri Jones, 2 Matthew Rees (c), 1 Rob Evans
Replacements: 16 Kristian Dacey, 17 Owen Evans, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Macauley Cook, 20 James Davies, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Matthew Morgan, 23 Jonathan Spratt

Date: Friday, May 30
Venue: Liberty Stadium, Swansea
Kickoff: 19:05 (local, 18:05 GMT)