Wales name Allen, Walker, Williams

Date published: October 22 2013

Wales have named three uncapped players in their squad for their November Tests against South Africa, Argentina, Tonga and Australia.

Wales have named three uncapped players in their squad for November's Test fixtures against South Africa, Argentina, Tonga and Australia.

Uncapped trio, Rhodri Williams (Scarlets), Cory Allen (Blues) and Eli Walker (Ospreys) feature in the squad alongside Luke Charteris (Perpignan), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys) and Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), who return after injury.

The Six Nations champions host southern hemisphere sides South Africa, Argentina, Tonga and Australia at the Millennium Stadium on consecutive weekends in November and it will be an opportunity for June debutants Rhys Patchell, Owen Williams (both Blues) and hooker Emyr Phillips (Scarlets) to add to their international tally.

In the front-row Gethin Jenkins, Scott Andrews (both Blues), Ryan Bevington, Adam Jones, Richard Hibbard (all Ospreys), Paul James (Bath) and Ken Owens (Scarlets), who all featured in the Six Nations, are named alongside Jarvis and Phillips. Jarvis features for the first time since last November after injury and Phillips will be looking to add to his first two caps gained in Japan.

Ospreys and Lions duo Alun Wyn Jones and Ian Evans are named alongside Bradley Davies (Blues) who led Wales to Japan in June, Dragons second-row Andrew Coombs and Charteris, who returns after injury to be named for the first time since last November.

Wales captain Sam Warburton will lead the squad and is joined by a wealth of experience in the back-row alongside Dan Lydiate, Toby Faletau, Ryan Jones and Justin Tipuric.

Mike Phillips and Lloyd Williams are named alongside former Wales U20 scrum-half Williams, who receives his first call-up to the senior international squad.

Priestland returns after missing the last two campaigns with injury and features with Ospreys' Dan Biggar, who played in all of Wales 2013 Six Nations encounters.

Perpignan's James Hook and Cardiff Blues fly-half Rhys Patchell, who made his international debut in Japan, are named as two of the 16 backs in the squad.

We have an important campaign ahead as we look to test ourselves against some of the best sides in the world but also add strength in depth to our squad as we look to the future,” said head coach Warren Gatland.

“We face a huge game against South Africa first up and they will be coming to us after an impressive Rugby Championship campaign.

“Recent matches between us have been very close and physical and that will be a great test for us to kick-off.

“All four matches will be a stern test but we are looking forward to the challenge and looking forward to seeing what we can do on this stage.

“The Rugby World Cup is less than two years away, so we are looking to build as much depth in our squad as possible and to give vital international experience to our players.”

Wales squad

Backs: L Williams (Scarlets), L Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), E Walker (Ospreys), G North (Northampton), J Hook (Perpignan), O Williams (Cardiff Blues), C Allen (Cardiff Blues), S Williams (Scarlets), A Beck (Ospreys), J Davies (Scarlets), R Priestland (Scarlets), R Patchell (Cardiff Blues), D Biggar (Ospreys), M Phillips (Bayonne), L Williams (Cardiff Blues), R Williams (Scarlets).

Forwards: S Andrews (Cardiff Blues), A Jones (Ospreys), A Jarvis (Ospreys), P James (Bath), G Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), R Bevington (Ospreys), R Hibbard (Ospreys), K Owens (Scarlets), E Phillips (Scarlets), A W Jones (Ospreys), L Charteris (Perpignan), I Evans (Ospreys), B Davies (Cardiff Blues), A Coombs (Newport Gwent Dragons), R Jones (Ospreys), J Tipuric (Ospreys), S Warburton (Cardiff Blues, capt), D Lydiate (Racing Metro), T Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).