Wales bring back Warburton

Date published: March 5 2013

Wales have named Sam Warburton and Alun-Wyn Jones in their starting XV for this week's Six Nations clash with Scotland.

Wales have included Sam Warburton and Alun-Wyn Jones in their starting line-up for Saturday's Six Nations meeting with Scotland at Murrayfield.

Meanwhile, Paul James will win his 44th cap and comes into the side after Gethin Jenkins failed to recover from a calf injury picked up in Italy.

Jones and Warburton, who both featured from the bench in Rome after recovering from injuries, start at second-row and at openside respectively.

Ryan Jones (Ospreys) who has led Wales to two successive away victories will again captain the side and will line up in the back-row alongside Warburton and Toby Faletau at number eight.

Alun-Wyn Jones comes into the second-row to partner regional team-mate Ian Evans and in the front-row James comes in to play alongside Ospreys duo Richard Hibbard and Adam Jones.

Wales and Scotland go into Saturday's match level on points in the Six Nations table with two victories apiece and the visitors will be looking for their fifth successive away victory in the tournament, a feat they haven't achieved before.

For the fourth match running, interim coach Rob Howley names an unchanged backline.

Mike Phillips will continue his partnership at half-back with Ospreys fly-half Dan Biggar with Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies named in the centre. Leigh Halfpenny, Alex Cuthbert and George North make up the back-three.

“We have had two good, hard fought away victories but we know will have to be at our best again to come away from Murrayfield with the result,” said Howley.

“It's disappointing for Gethin to miss out but Paul has impressed and made an impact in each game he has played.

“We are bringing in a wealth of experience with Alun Wyn and Sam and they both performed well off the bench in Rome. Ryan has led the team to two wins and deserves to captain the side against Scotland.

“We have spoken a lot about momentum in this tournament and we go into the game with two wins under our belt but Scotland are in the same position and it's going to be a good challenge.”

There are three changes on the replacements bench. Scott Andrews comes into the matchday squad to replace Paul James and Andrew Coombs and Justin Tipuric take their place amongst the replacements.

Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton, 6 Ryan Jones (capt), 5 Ian Evans, 4 Alun-Wyn Jones, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Paul James.
Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Scott Andrews, 18 Craig Mitchell, 19 Andrew Coombs, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 James Hook, 23 Scott Williams.

Date: Saturday, March 9
Kick-off: 14:30
Venue: Murrayfield
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
Television match official: Giulio De Santis (Italy)