Waikato too good for BOP

Date published: August 30 2015

Waikato cruised past Bay of Plenty with a convincing 43-10 win to go third in the ITM Cup Premiership.

Brad Weber scored two tries, while Michael Mayhew, Jordan Payne, Zane Kapeli and James Tucker also crossed for the Mooloos, who picked up their biggest win in nearly three years.

Bay of Plenty actually got on the scoresheet first with a penalty from Dan Hollinshead, but after that it was one-way traffic with Ben Tameifuna involved in the first two tries, for Weber and then Mayhew.

The hosts then lost lock Culum Retallick to a yellow card, with Damian McKenzie taking advantage to slot a penalty and make it 17-3.

Weber went over again on the stroke of half-time, with McKenzie converting once more, and the bonus point followed nine minutes after half-time from Payne.

Kapeli was next over, five minutes later, but Bay of Plenty finally had something to cheer when Joe Tupe crossed with seven minutes to go.

However it was the visitors who had the final say, with Tucker grabbing their sixth and final try with two minutes remaining to seal the win.

The scorers:

For Bay of Plenty:
Con: Hollinshead
Pen: Hollinshead
Yellow card: Retallick

For Waikato:
Weber 2, Mayhew, Payne, Kapeli, Tucker
Cons: McKenzie 5
Pen: McKenzie

Bay of Plenty: 15 Te Rangi Fraser, 14 Tino Nemani, 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Dan Hollinshead, 11 Chase Tiatia, 10 Nick Evemy, 9 Papa Wharewera, 8 Carl Axtens, 7 Zak Hohneck, 6 Johan Bardoul, 5 Culum Retallick, 4 Keepa Mewett, 3 Pingi Tala'apitaga, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Aidan Ross
Replacements: 16 Joseph Royal, 17 Solomona Sakalia, 18 Jeff Thwaites, 19 Tim Bond, 20 Shahn Eru, 21 Joe Tupe, 22 Te Aihe Toma, 23 Craig Clare

Waikato: 15 Shaun Stevenson, 14 Declan O'Donnell, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Jordan Payne, 11 Joe Webber, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Josh Tyrell, 7 Zane Kapeli, 6 Whetu Douglas, 5 Jacob Skeen, 4 James Tucker, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Michael Mayhew, 1 Lone Uhila
Replacements: 16 Hame Faiva, 17 Joe Walsh, 18 Tau Koloamatangi, 19 David Morgan, 20 Murray Iti, 21 Harrison Levien, 22 Bryn Gatland, 23 Dylan Collier

Referee: Mike Fraser