Vote for YOUR Team of the Year!

Date published: December 7 2016


It’s that time again! Before demolishing the Christmas turkey, it’s time to reflect on the year gone by and pick your Readers’ Team of the Year.

2016 has seen some teams stumble – sorry Springbok supporters – while New Zealand, England and Ireland have all made major strides.

Saracens dominated at domestic level in Europe, with Connacht’s remarkable PRO12 title and Racing being crowned champions of France both memorable highlights.

There was no stopping Beauden Barrett’s Hurricanes in Super Rugby either as they went a step further having lost in the final the year before.

Now, it is your time to let us know who makes your Team of 2016. Remember, you are picking the best player in his position on form this year, be it at domestic or international level. (Pictured above are the six nominees for World Player of the Year, won by Barrett).

You’ve got plenty to think about, so we’re giving you until 12-noon GMT on Tuesday, December 13 to make your selections.

How do you nominate your team? It’s simple: Use the comments section below to list the XV players that you think were the standout performers in 2015.

(In some countries – like South Africa – the openside flank wears 6, in most other countries he wears 7, so we’ll use the latter convention.)

Use the following format:

15 Fred Full-back, 14 Robert Right, 13 Oliver Outside, 12 Ian Inside, 11 Luke Left, 10 Francois Fly-half, 9 Sam Scrum-half, 8 Norman Eight, 7 Oscar Openside, 6 Bill Blindside, 5 Lance Lock, 4 Larry Lock, 3 Tim Tighthead, 2 Harry Hooker, 1 Leon Loosehead

DON’T give us explanations for your selections, just the fifteen names please.

In order to make the counting process possible, we will only consider teams sent in the correct format!

Save the banter for when the final team is published, just send us your nominations for now.