Van der Walt to skipper Sharks

Date published: September 23 2015

Philip van der Walt will captain the Sharks when they play against the Blue Bulls at Kings Park in Durban on Friday night. 

Van der Walt, who will start the match at number eight once again, takes over the reins from Marco Wentzel, who will start this Friday's fixture from the bench.

Coach Gary Gold has also included Christiaan de Bruin in the starting XV, where he will compete at flank, while Dave McDuling replaces Wentzel at lock.

Sharks young gun Jean-Luc du Preez is currently grappling with a wrist fracture and will not be available for selection ahead of the critical fixture against the Blue Bulls.

Mzamo Majola and Kyle Cooper will join the matchday squad this week, when they will replace Monde Hadebe and Dale Chadwick on the bench. The latter is suffering from a neck injury.

Jean Deysel has also been included in the squad this week, after Daniel du Preez was sidelined by a knee injury. 

The Sharks backline, which showed tremendous promise against the Lions last weekend, has remained unchanged.

Sharks: 15 Odwa Ndungane, 14 Wandile Mjekevu, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 S'bura Sithole, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Philip van der Walt (c), 7 Christiaan de Bruin, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Dave McDuling, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Gerhard Engelbrecht, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Thomas du Toit. 
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper , 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Marco Wentzel , 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Michael Claassens, 21 Heimar Williams, 22 Garth April.

Date: Friday, 25 September
Kick-off: 20:00 local (18:00 GMT)
Venue: Growthpoint Kings Park
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe, Jaco Pretorius
Television match official: Marius Jonker