Unbeaten Tasman see off Manawatu

Date published: August 27 2015

Tasman made it three wins from three in the ITM Cup after notching a 41-21 victory over Manawatu in Blenheim on Thursday.

The hosts dominated from the outset and outscored Manawatu by four tries to three, with Tasman fly-half Marty Banks impressing with a 21-point haul via five penalties and three conversions.

Tasman did most of the early attacking and held a 21-7 lead at half-time after tries from Quentin MacDonald and Pete Samu, as well as three Banks penalties.

Manawatu scored the game's best try, however, when Kayne Hammington crossed shortly after Banks opened the scoring with his first penalty in the tenth minute.

Ambrose Curtis set up Hammington's score after gliding through a gap in Tasman's defence before delivering an inside pass to Hammington who scored under the sticks.

Manawatu were fastest out of the blocks after the turnaround and narrowed the gap to seven points when Semisi Masirewa scored their second try, but Banks added two further penalties which gave Tasman a 27-14 lead on the hour mark.

Samu scored his second try to push the hosts further ahead and Jimmy Cowan secured Tasman's try-scoring bonus point in the 66th mimute when he barged over from close quarters.

Manawatu didn't give up though and were awarded a late penalty try after Tasman skipper Shane Christie tripped an opponent close to the hosts' try-line. Christie was also sin binned for his indiscretion.

The scorers:

For Tasman:
Tries: Samu 2, MacDonald, Cowan
Pens: Banks 5
Cons: Banks 3
Yellow card: Christie

For Manawatu:
Tries: Hammington, Masirewa, Penalty try 
Cons: Black 3

Tasman: 15 Trent Renata, 14 Robbie Malneek, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 David Havili, 11 Mitchell Scott, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Billy Guyton, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Shane Christie, 6 Pete Samu, 5 Alex Ainley, 4 Marco Kotze, 3 Suia Halnukonuka, 2 Quentin MacDonald, 1 Tim Perry.
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Ross Geldenhuys, 18 Jake Stafford-Wood, 19 Jeff Lepa, 20 Vernon Fredericks, 21 Jimmy Cowan, 22 Trael Joass, 23 Viliami Lolohea.

Manawatu: 15 Hamiora Thomas, 14 Semisi Masirewa, 13 Jason Emery, 12 Hamish Northcott, 11 Ambrose Curtis, 10 Otere Black, 9 Kayne Hammington, 8 James Oliver, 7 Callum Gibbins (c), 6 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 5 Tom Parsons, 4 Fraser Stone, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Rob Foreman, 1 Adrian Barone.
Replacements: 16 Nick Grogan, 17 Tim Cadwallader, 18 Fraser Armstrong, 19 Valentino Mapapalangi, 20 Antonio Kiri Kiri, 21 Toby Morland, 22 Jaxon Tagavaitau, 23 Nathan Tudreu.

Referee: Glen Jackson