Turbos charge past Northland

Date published: September 13 2015

Manawatu moved off the bottom of the ITM Cup standings after they eased past Northland, running out 42-17 winners in Palmerston North on Sunday.

Semisi Masirewa, Nathan Tudreu (2), Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, Michael Alaalatoa and Valentino Mapapalangi were the Turbos try-scorers in a comfortable win.

Three of those tries came before the 20 minute mark which put the hosts 21-0 in front before Northland flanker Dan Pryor responded to make it 21-7 at half-time.

But after the break, further tries from Tudreu and Alaalatoa kept the ball rolling for the Turbos, with Dave Thomas' try for Northland on the hour wiped out by second-row Mapapalangi's effort as the hosts enjoyed a morale-boosting win.

The scorers:

For Manawatu:
Tries: Masirewa, Tudreu 2, Bedwell-Curtis, Alaalatoa, Mapapalangi
Con: Black 5, Malcolm

For Northland:
Tries: D Pryor, Thomas
Con: Hawkins 2
Pen: Hawkins

Manawatu: 15 Semisi Masirewa, 14 Ambrose Curtis, 13 Jason Emery, 12 Hamish Northcott, 11 Nathan Tudreu, 10 Otere Black, 9 Toby Morland, 8 Antonio Kirikiri, 7 Callum Gibbins (c), 6 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 5 Valentino Mapapalangi, 4 Fraser Stone, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Nick Grogan, 1 Fraser Armstrong.
Replacements: 16 Rob Foreman, 17 Adrian Barone, 18 Tim Cadwallader, 19 Tom Parsons, 20 Brice Henderson, 21 Sam Malcolm, 22 Jaxon Tagavaitau, 23 Hamiora Thomas.

Northland: 15 Matt Wright, 14 Jone Macilai-Tori, 13 Dave Thomas, 12 Troy Gilbert, 11 Filipo Nakosi, 10 Daniel Hawkins, 9 Sam Nock, 8 Jaycob Matiu, 7 Kara Pryor, 6 Dan Pryor, 5 Mike Stolberg, 4 Joshua Goodhue, 3 Namatahi Waa, 2 Matt Moulds (c), 1 Howard Silioto.
Replacements: 16 Jordan Olsen, 17 Ross Wright, 18 Matias Narvaez, 19 Sean Sweetman, 20 Taniela Manu, 21 Mac Sykes, 22 Isimeli Taqea, 23 Jordan Hyland.

Referee: Ben O'Keeffe