Triple change for Sunwolves

Date published: March 15 2017

Sunwolves head coach Filo Tiatia has made three changes to his starting XV for this Friday’s Super Rugby clash with the Bulls.

Two of those changes come in midfield, where Jamie-Jerry Taulagi and Timothy Lafaele form a new centre partnership.

The other change for the Sunwolves comes in the second row where Sam Wykes starts, forming a new pairing with Uwe Helu.

Former Reds back-row Ed Quirk once again captains the side from blindside flanker, while Kenki Fukuoka, who scored two tries last weekend against the Cheetahs, also starts.

New faces on the bench include prop Heiichiro Ito, back-row Yoshitaka Tokunaga and back Ryohei Yamanaka.

Sunwolves: 15 Shota Emi, 14 Takaaki Nakazuru, 13 Jamie-Jerry Taulagi, 12 Timothy Lafaele, 11 Kenki Fukuoka, 10 Hayden Cripps, 9 Keisuke Uchida, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Shumei Matsuhashi, 6 Ed Quirk (c), 5 Uwe Helu, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Yasuo Yamaji, 2 Yusuke Niwai, 1 Koki Yamamoto
Replacements: 16 Atsushi Sakate, 17 Masataka Mikami, 18 Heiichiro Ito, 19 Liaki Moli, 20 Yoshitaka Tokunaga, 21 Kaito Shigeno, 22 Jumpei Ogura, 23 Ryohei Yamanaka

Date: Friday, March 17
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 19:00 local (17:00 GMT)
Referee: Jamie Nutbrown (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Stuart Berry (South Africa)
TMO: Mike Vos (South Africa)