Treviso beat Cardiff for first win

Date published: February 13 2016

Treviso picked up their first win of the PRO12 season on Saturday as they secured a 13-7 home victory over Cardiff Blues.

A first half try from Blaine Scully had put the visitors narrowly ahead going in to the half-time break. 

A penalty try was the difference between the two sides, but the Welsh side couldn't make the most of a dominant second half performance. 

A dominant start from the hosts saw them take a 6-0 lead in the opening quarter of the game, as Jayden Hayward took advantage of two Cardiff Blues offside calls slotting twice from the tee. 

The Italians continued to dominate, before a rare attack for Cardiff saw the ball shipped out to Scully, who reached for the corner to touch down. 

A fantastic conversion from Rhys Patchell took the visitors in to the lead at half-time. In the opening exchanges of the second half referee Dudley Phillips judged that the Cardiff pack was pulling the scrum down as it pushed towards the try line, and awarded a penalty try. 

Hayward converted with ease to give the hosts a 13-7 lead. 

After a great break from Ethan Lewis, swatting off two Treviso tackles, the ball was shipped out to Manoa Vosawai who went for the line to put his team in front, but he was brilliantly held up. 

The Welsh side continued to dominate the play in to the closing stages, but a strong Treviso defence was able to see out a vital win in Northern Italy.

The scorers:

For Treviso:
Try: Penalty try
Con: Hayward
Pens: Hayward 2

For Cardiff Blues:
Try: Scully
Pen: Patchell

Treviso: 15 Jayden Hayward, 14 Ludovico Nitoglia, 13 Luca Morisi, 12 Alberto Sgarbi (c), 11 Tommaso Iannone, 10 Sam Christie, 9 Alberto Lucchese, 8 Dean Budd, 7 Marco Lazzaroni, 6 Andrea De Marchi, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Filo Paulo, 3 Simone Ferrari, 2 Luca Bigi, 1 Alberto De Marchi
Replacements: 16 Federico Zani, 17 Matteo Muccignat, 18 Filippo Filippetto, 19 Jeff Montauriol, 20 Marco Barbini, 21 Chris Smylie, 22 Enrico Bacchin, 23 Angelo Esposito

Cardiff Blues: 15 Rhys Patchell, 14 Blaine Scully, 13 Cory Allen, 12 Rey Lee-Lo, 11 Dan Fish, 10 Jarrod Evans, 9 Tavis Knoyle, 8 Manoa Vosawai, 7 Ellis Jenkins (c), 6 Josh Navidi, 5 James Down, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Kristian Dacey, 1 Thomas Davies
Replacements: 16 Ethan Lewis, 17 Bradley Thyer, 18 Taufa'ao Filise, 19 Lou Reed, 20 Macauley Cook, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Garyn Smith, 23 Aled Summerhill

Referee: Dudley Phillips (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Filippo Bertelli (Italy), Stefano Bolzonella (Italy)
TMO: Stefano Roscini (Italy)