Toulouse held at Brive

Date published: March 5 2016

Luke McAlister's late try secured a 21-21 draw for Toulouse away to Brive in the Top 14 on Saturday.

Sébastien Bézy had the chance to win the game from the resulting conversion, but his effort was stopped by Jean-Baptiste Pejoine when he impressively charged down the conversion.

Two Bézy penalties opened the scoring as the visitors went up 6-0 before the France scrum-half missed from just over 50 metres out.

Gaetan Germain hit back for the hosts before Brive scored the game's first try – second row Johan Snyman barging his way over to put the hosts ahead for the first time.

Germain couldn't add the conversion but Brive clung on to that narrow lead heading into the break up 8-6.

Toulouse were the first to alter the scoreboard in the second half after a break from Christopher Tolofua set up full-back Maxime Médard for their first try thanks to Jean-Marc Doussain's pass, Bézy converting.

Germain's second penalty closed the gap to two points at 11-13 and before long Brive were back ahead, Sevanaia Galala's finish confirmed by the TMO with Germain's conversion make it 18-13.

Another three points from the boot of Germain extended Brive's lead with ten minutes to go, but a yellow card for Alfi Mafi gave Toulouse a chance.

Doussain slotted the penalty to put Toulouse within a converted score before the late drama with McAlister's score, but no conversion.

The scorers:

For Brive:
Tries: Snyman, Galala
Con: Germain
Pens: Germain 3
Yellow Card: Mafi

For Toulouse:
Tries: Médard, McAlister
Con: Bézy
Pens: Bézy 3
Yellow Card: Bézy

Brive: 15 Gaetan Germain, 14 Alfi Mafi, 13 Arnaud Mignardi, 12 Benjamin Petre, 11 Benito Masilevu, 10 Nicolas Bézy, 9 Teddy Iribaren, 8 Sisa Koyamaibole, 7 Dominiko Waqaniburotukula, 6 Petrus Hauman, 5 Arnaud Mela, 4 Johan Snyman, 3 Damien Jourdain, 2 Francois Da Ros, 1 Karlen Asieshvil
16 Guillaume Ribes, 17 Goderdzi Shvelidze, 18 Peet Marais, 19 Fabien Sanconnie, 20 Jean-Baptiste Pejoine, 21 Matthieu Ugalde, 22 Sevanaia Galala, 23 Giorgi Jgenti

Toulouse: 15 Maxime Médard, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Florian Fritz, 12 Gaël Fickou, 11 Timoci Matanavou, 10 Jean-Marc Doussain, 9 Sébastien Bézy, 8 Talalelei Gray, 7 Yacouba Camara, 6 Thierry Dusautoir, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Yoann Maestri, 3 Dorian Aldegheri, 2 Julien Marchand, 1 Vasil Kakovin
16 Christopher Tolofua, 17 Gurthro Steenkamp, 18 Edwin Maka, 19 Gregory Lamboley, 20 Toby Flood, 21 Luke McAlister, 22 Yann David, 23 Census Johnston

Referee: Pascal Gauzère