Toulouse cruise past Oyonnax

Date published: December 6 2015

Toulouse had too much quality for struggling Oyonnax when the two sides met in the Top 14 on Saturday, the hosts winning 27-3.

Regis Lespinas opened the scoring with a second minute penalty for Oyonnax but it proved to be their only points in a one-sided contest in which Toulouse flanker Tala Grey, fresh from signing a new two-year contract after joining as a World Cup joker, scored two tries.

Toulouse as a result climbed to the top of the table, ahead of Toulon despite sharing the same number of points having recorded more wins so far (seven).

Lespinas struck from 22 metres out but Toulouse soon responded, Luke McAlister and Florian Fritz combining to release Gray for his first try on eight minutes.

A conversion and penalty from Nicolas Bézy stretched the lead to 10-3, with Toby Flood then denied after his 48-metre penalty came off the post.

Lespinas missed a chance to reply before Oyonnax went down to 14 men with the sin-binning Viliami Ma’afu not helping their cause as Bézy extended their lead to 13-3, with McAlister missing from 50 metres just before half-time.

Bézy missed just after the interval – his first in 17 attempts – before then striking the post as Oyonnax's disciplinary issues continued.

A second try for Gray soon followed after confirmation from the TMO, who judged that the flanker had grounded the ball on the line.

Confirming their dominance, McAlister rounded off a move involving himself, Bézy and Fritz to wrap up a comfortable win which also secured the attacking bonus point given that Toulouse outscored Oyonnax by three tries to none.

The scorers:

For Toulouse: 
Tries: Gray 2, McAlister
Cons: Bézy 3
Pens: Bézy 2

For Oyonnax: 
Pen: Lespinas
Yellow Card: Ma'afu

Toulouse: 15 Clément Poitrenaud, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Toby Flood, 12 Florian Fritz, 11 Arthur Bonneval, 10 Luke McAlister, 9 Nicolas Bézy, 8 Imanol Harinordoquy, 7 Tala Gray, 6 Thierry Dusautoir, 5 Joe Tekori, 4 Romain Millo-Chluski, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Vasil Kakovin
Replacements: 16 Julien Marchand, 17 Cyril Baille, 18 Dorian Aldegheri, 19 Edwin Maka, 20 Yacouba Camara, 21 GIllian Galan, 22 David Mélé, 23 Alexis Palisson

Oyonnax: 15 Quentin Etienne, 14 Alaska Taufa, 13 Guillaume Bousses, 12 Vincent Martin, 11 Fetu'u Vainikolo, 10 Régis Lespinas, 9 Fabien Cibray, 8 Viliami Ma’afu, 7 Pedrie Wannenburg, 6 Pierrick Gunther, 5 Fabrice Metz, 4 George Robson, 3 Antoine Guillamon, 2 Jéremie Maurouard, 1 Soane Tonga'uiha
Replacements: 16 Jenneker, 17 Stan Wright, 18 Leon Power, 19 Guillaume Bernad, 20 Julien Blanc, 21 Rory Clegg, 22 Keziah Giordano, 23 Horatiu Pungea

Referee: Adrien Descottes