Toulouse and UBB share the spoils

Date published: March 12 2016

A late second half penalty for Toulouse against Bordeaux-Begles resulted in a 13-all scoreline in the Top 14 at the Stade Ernest Wallon.

Both sides' second draw of the season leaves them in fifth and third place respectively as UBB missed the chance to overtake Clermont in second.

Jean-Marc Doussain and Pierre Bernard traded early penalties before the visitors' centre Romain Lonca was yellow carded.

Toulouse failed to add any points with Lonca off the field but did score the game's first try through Paul Perez, the Samoan international's effort converted by Doussain for a seven-point lead.

Bernard struck with a second penalty in response to make it 10-6 to Toulouse at half-time.

Thanks to a try from replacement Metuisela Talebula, UBB were able to take the lead for the first time in the 47th minute, with Bernard adding the conversion.

But UBB were reduced back down to 14 men after a yellow card for Australia international Adam Ashley-Cooper.

Luke McAlister capitalised with a penalty to level the scores at 13-13 but neither side could find the key breakthrough in the final quarter, ultimately having to settle for the draw.

The scorers:

For Toulouse:
Try: Perez
Con: Doussain
Pens: Doussain, McAlister

For Bordeaux-Begles:
Try: Talebula
Con: Bernard
Pens: Bernard 2
Yellow Cards: Lonca, Ashley-Cooper

Toulouse: 15 Luke McAlister, 14 Paul Perez, 13 Yann David, 12 Florian Fritz, 11 Timoci Matanavou, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Jean-Marc Doussain, 8 Talalelei Gray, 7 Joe Tekori, 6 Thierry Dusautoir, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Gregory Lamboley, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp,
Replacements: 16 Christopher Tolofua, 17 Cyril Baille, 18 Edwin Maka, 19 Gillian Galan, 20 Clement Poitrenaud, 21 David Mele, 22 Alexis Palisson,23 Dorian Aldegheri

Bordeaux-Begles: 15 Nans Ducuing, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Felix le Bourhis, 12 Romain Lonca, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Pierre Bernard, 9 Baptiste Serin,  8 Peter Saili, 7 Hugh Chalmers, 6 Louis-Benoit Madaule, 5 Jan Andre Marais, 4 Julien Ledevedec, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Ole Avei, 1 Steven Kitshoff
Replacements: 16 Clement Maynadier, 17 Sebastien Taofifenua, 18 Cyril Cazeaux, 19 Marco Tauleigne, 20 Yann Lesgourgues, 21 Simon Hickey, 22 Metuisela Talebula, 23 Sekope Kepu

Referee: Pascal Gauzère
Assistant Referees: Cyril Lafon, Laurent Breil
TMO: Jean-Marie Piraveau