Toulon cruise past Oyonnax

Date published: February 21 2016

Toulon moved in to second position in the standings after coasting to an easy 44-13 victory over Oyonnax at Stade Charles Mathon on Sunday.

As the scoreline suggests, this was a one-sided affair and Toulon outscored their hosts five tries to one with Jonathan Pelissie leading the way with a 21-point haul via a try, five conversions and two penalties.

Toulon dominated from the outset and scored their first try as early as the fourth minute – Mathieu Bastareaud rounding off and Pelissie adding the extras.

The visitors extended their lead via a Pelissie penalty and the scrum-half got his name on the scoreboard again when he crossed for his five-pointer.

Oyonnax opened their account via a Nicky Robinson penalty which meant Toulon led 17-3 half-time. Robinson got the first points of the second half via the kicking tee but Toulon struck back back with converted tries from Bryan Habana and Ma'a Nonu and sandwiched in between those scored was another Pelissie penalty in the 58th minute.

Soane Tonga'uiha scored a consolation try for the home side in the 65th minute but Toulon were not done and Iuri Natriashvili added their fifth try shortly afterwards before Frederic Michalak added a final nail in Oyonnax's coffin with another penalty shortly before full-time.

The scorers: 

For Oyonnax:
Con: Robinson
Pens: Robinson 2

For Toulon:
Bastareaud, Pelissie, Habana, Nonu, Natriashvili
Cons: Pelissie 5
Pens: Pelissie 2, Michalak

Oyonnax: 15 Quentin Etienne Lecoq, 14 Silvere Tian, 13 Jimmy Yobo, 12 Vincent Martin, 11 Dug Codjo, 10 Nicky Robinson, 9 Fabien Cibray, 8 Viliami Ma'afu, 7 Pierrick Gunther, 6 Maurie Fa'asavalu, 5 Valentin Ursache, 4 Fabrice Metz, 3 Antoine Guillamon, 2 Jody Jenneker, 1 Laurent DelBoulbes 
Replacements: 16 Jeremie Maurouard, 17 Soane Tonga'uiha, 18 Leon Power, 19 Pedrie Wannenburg, 20 Olivier Missoup, 21 Julien Blanc, 22 Roimata Hansell-Pune, 23 Marc Clerc

Toulon: 15 James O'Connor, 14 Josua Tuisova, 13 Mathieu Bastareaud, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Tom Taylor, 9 Jonathan Pelissie, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 5 Romain Taofifenua, 4 Thibault Lassalle, 3 Levan Chilachava, 2 Guilhem Guirado, 1 Xavier Chiocci
Replacements: 16 Iuri Natriashvili, 17 Alexandre Menini, 18 Jocelino Suta, 19 Juan Smith, 20 Frederic Michalak, 21 Delon Armitage, 22 Eric Escande, 23 Manasa Saulo Romumu

Referee: Pascal Gauzère