Top 14 wrap: Toulon crush Biarritz

Date published: March 9 2013

Toulon ran in six tries in a comprehensive 50-15 thumping of Biarritz at the Stade Mayol in the Top 14 on Saturday.

Toulon ran in six tries in a resounding 50-15 thumping of Biarritz at the Stade Mayol in the Top 14 on Saturday.

Toulouse edged out an excellent Bordeaux performance with a 33-32 victory at the Stade Toulousain, a 68th minute penalty from Lionel Beauxis setting the two sides apart.

Stade Français were comfortable winners over struggling Mont-de-Marsan, whilst Bayonne won away on the road against Agen.

Clermont racked up a crucial try bonus-point win over Castres to close the gap between themselves and Toulon at the top of the table to just two points.


Montpellier 15-17 Racing M̩tro РReport here
Agen 20-30 Bayonne
Stade Français 42-14 Mont-de-Marsan
Perpignan 20-18 Grenoble
Toulon 50-15 Biarritz
Toulouse 33-32 Bordeaux-Bègles
Clermont 37-10 Castres

Rugby Club Toulonnais 50-15 Biarritz Olympique
Stade Felix Mayol, Toulon

A try from Bakkies Botha after just six minutes set the tone for Toulon's victory over Biarritz at the Stade Mayol, with the Top 14 leaders extending their gap at the top of the table to seven points with Clermont performing later on.

Biarritz reacted swiftly with a try from Benôit Baby but were unable to respond in the second half, with Barraque only able to add a penalty in reply to tries from Nick Kennedy, Rudi Wulf and veteran hooker Sebastian Bruno.

Matt Giteau was one of the home side's try scorers but was also forced to depart after the interval due to injury.

Former England fly-half Jonny Wilkinson contributed heavily with the boot – with 22 points in total.

The scorers:

For Toulon:
Tries: Botha, Palisson, Giteau, Kennedy, Wulf, Bruno
Cons: Wilkinson 5
Pens: Wilkinson 3
Drops: Wilkinson

For Biarritz:
Tries: Baby, Brew
Cons: Barraque
Pens: Barraque

Toulon: 15 Vincent Martin, 14 Rudi Wulf, 13 Maxime Mermoz, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Alexis Palisson, 10 Jonny Wilkinson, 9 Sebastien Tillous Borde, 8 Chris Masoe, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Pierrick Gunther, 5 Nicholas Kennedy, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Jean Charles Orioli, 1 Andrew Sheridan.
Replacements: 16 Sebastien Bruno, 17 Xavier Chiocci, 18 Jocelino Suta, 19 Virgile Bruni, 20 Geoffroy Messina, 21 Benjamin Lapeyre, 22 Nicolas Durand, 23 Levan Chilachava.

Biarritz: 15 Jean Pascal Barraque, 14 Takudzwa Ngwenya, 13 Benoit Baby, 12 Charles Gimenez, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Mathew Berquist, 9 Yann Lesgourgues, 8 Raphael Lakafia, 7 Thibault Dubarry, 6 Talalelei Gray, 5 Erik Lund, 4 Mathias Marie, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Benoit August, 1 Wikus Blaauw.
Replacements: 16 Fabien Barcella, 17 Ben Broster, 18 Benoit Guyot, 19 Luix Roussarie, 20 Julien Peyrelongue, 21 Teddy Thomas, 22 Eugene Van Staden.

Stade Toulousain 33-32 Union Bordeaux-Bègles
Stade Ernest Wallon, Toulouse

A tense finish left Toulouse clinging on to their slender one-point lead against Bordeaux, securing third spot in the Top 14 with the 33-32 win.

Bordeaux made their intentions clear with the game's first from Blair Connor after three minutes. William Servat responded for the hosts before Heini Adams put the visitors back in front.

Yves Donguy's try before the interval gave Toulouse the lead and two penalties from Beauxis at the start of the second-half opened up a 24-15 lead.

Connor was prominent again for Bordeaux in setting up the try for Delboulbès, with Clarkin then snatching the bonus point to give the visitors the lead.

Luke McAlister and Nicolas Sanchez then exchanged penalties before Beauxis struck with the winning kick, although Sanchez could have won the match with a late drop goal attempt which went wide to the left.

The scorers:

For Toulouse:
Tries: Servat, Donguy
Cons: Beauxis
Pens: Beauxis 6, McAlister

For Bordeaux-Bègles:
Tries: Connor, Adam, Delboulbes, Clarkin
Cons: Lopez 3
Pens: Lopez, Sanchez
Yellow Card: Avei

Toulouse: 15 Clement Poitrenaud, 14 Timoci Matanavou, 13 Yannick Jauzion, 12 Luke McAlister, 11 Yves Donguy, 10 Lionel Beauxis, 9 Jean Marc Doussain, 8 Gillian Galan, 7 Sylvain Nicolas, 6 Jean Bouilhou, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Romain Millo Chlusky, 3 Census Johnston, 2 William Servat, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Jaba Bregvadze, 17 Jean Batiste Poux, 18 Edwin Maka, 19 Karl Chateau, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Maxime Payen, 22 Gregory Lamboley, 23 Yohan Montes.

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Bruce Reihana, 14 Metuisela Talebulamaijaina, 13 Felix Le Bourhis, 12 Andrew Mailei, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Camille Lopez, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Matthew Clarkin, 7 Justin Purll, 6 Hugh Chalmers, 5 Adam Jaulhac, 4 Cameron Treloar, 3 Silviu Florea, 2 Wayne Avei, 1 Laurent Delboulbes.
Replacements: 16 Hikairo Forbes, 17 Jefferson Poirot, 18 Francois Tisseau, 19 Louis Benoit Madaule, 20 Julien Seron, 21 Nicolas Sanchez, 22 Rafael Carballo , 23 Tamato Leupolu.

SU Agen 20-30 Aviron Bayonnais
Stade Armandie, Agen

Two tries from full-back Scott Spedding set Bayonne on their way to a 30-20 away win against struggling Agen at the Stade Armandie.

Guillaume Rouet also crossed for the visitors in the first half as the visitors moved up to 41 points in the Top 14.

Agen racked up tries from Jean Monribot and Remi Vaquin in each half but ended up on the wrong side of the scoreboard, leaving them four points adrift of safety in 13th place.

The scorers:

For Agen:
Tries: Monribot, Vaquin
Cons: Lagarde, Barnard
Pens: Lagarde, Barnard 2
Yellow Card: Narjissi

For Bayonne:
Tries: Spedding 2
Cons: Potgeiter 2
Pens: Potgeiter 3
Yellow Card: Haare

Agen: 15 Ben Seymour, 14 Ilaitia lekaiwala Tagotago, 13 Vincent Roux, 12 Benjamin Petre, 11 Nafitalai Henry Tuitavake, 10 Raphael Lagarde, 9 Alexi Bales, 8 Marc Giraud, 7 Remi Vaquin, 6 Jean Monribot, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Lisiate Faaoso, 3 Jonathan Garcia, 2 Jalil Narjissi, 1 John Schwalger.
Replacements: 16 Semisi Telefoni, 17 Bernard N Nomo, 18 Esteban Lozada, 19 Ueleni Fono, 20 Mathieu Loree, 21 Jean Francois Coux, 22 Conrad Barnard, 23 Viliamu Afatia.

Bayonne: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 Bastien Fuster, 13 Joe Rokocoko, 12 Gabiriele Lovobalavu, 11 Marvin O'Connor, 10 Jacques Louis Potgeiter, 9 Guillaume Rouet, 8 Dwayne Haare, 7 Julien Puricelli, 6 Guillaume Bernad, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Dewald Senekal, 3 Nemiah Tialata, 2 David Roumieu, 1 Aretz Iguiniz.
Replacements: 16 Gregory Arganese, 17 Vitolio Manukula, 18 Abdellatif Boutaty, 19 Marc Baget Rabarou, 20 Lionel Mazars, 21 Matthieu Ugalde, 22 Sam Gerber, 23 Renaud Boyoud.