Top 14 Wrap: Plisson crushes USAP

Date published: August 29 2013

Late drama in Perpignan saw Stade Français fly-half Jules Plisson convert a match-winning drop goal in the 80th minute on Saturday.

Late drama in Perpignan saw Stade Français fly-half Jules Plisson convert a match-winning drop goal in the 80th minute on Saturday.

Read on for the full round up of Saturday's fixtures:

Round Two Results:


Toulon 41-14 Racing Métro


Oyonnax 30-19 Clermont
Castres 34-6 Grenoble
Perpignan 27-28 Stade Français
Toulouse 40-3 Bayonne
Biarritz 19-12 Montpellier
Brive 25-12 Bordeaux

Castres 34-6 Grenoble

Three tries at the beginning of the second half saw Castres romp home to a 34-6 victory over visitors Grenoble.

The champions got off to the perfect start when flanker Ibrahim Diarra scored a try in only the third-minute, Max Evans setting up inside centre Remi Lamerat to put Castres 12-3 in front after 11 minutes.

Kockott would add a further penalty but Castres were forced to see out the remainder of the first half with 14 men, after lock Rodrigo Capo Ortega was sent to the bin.

Last year's champions more or less secured their victory after the break, when number eight Antoine Claassen crashed over from the back of a maul for the hosts third try – Grenoble losing Florian Ninard to the bin.

Marcel Garvey then wrapped up the try-bonus point in the 52nd minute and racked up another try four minutes later.

Hendrik Roodt and Piula Faasalele were both sent off for fighting as the match drew to a close, but the result had been settled some time before as Castres bounced back.

Castres: 15 Romain Martial, 14 Marcel Garvey, 13 Romain Cabannes, 12 Remi Lamerat, 11 Max Evans, 10 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Antonie Claassen, 7 Ibrahim Diarra, 6 Yannick Caballero, 5 Rodrigo Capo Ortega, 4 Christophe Samson, 3 Karena Wihongi, 2 Brice Mach, 1 Yannick Forestier.
Replacements: 16 Marc Antoine Rallier, 17 Anton Peikrishvili, 18 Piula Faasalele, 19 Pedrie Wannenburg, 20 Julien Tomas, 21 Remi Talès, 22 Paul Bonnefond, 23 Michael Coetzee.

Grenoble: 15 Benjamin Thiery, 14 Matthieu Nicolas, 13 Geoffroy Messina, 12 Olly Barkley, 11 Florian Ninard, 10 Jordan Michallet, 9 James Hart, 8 Florian Faure, 7 Roland Bernard, 6 Cédric Beal, 5 Naude Beukes, 4 Benjamin Hand, 3 Dayna Edwards, 2 Anthony Hegarty, 1 Kenan Mutapcic.
Replacements: 16 Albertus Buckle, 17 Vincent Campo, 18 Hendrik Roodt, 19 Falvien Nouhaillaguet, 20 Jonathan Best, 21 Rudi Coetzee, 22 Mathieu Lorée, 23 Kevin Goze.

Referee: C. Lafon

Perpignan 27-28 Stade Francais

An 80th minute drop goal from fly-half Jules Plisson snatched victory for Stade Français against Perpignan at the Parc des Sports Aguilera.

Sione Piukala crossed for the first try after only five minutes following Plisson's opening drop goal.

Wales full-back James Hook increased Perpignan's lead with two penalties, but a try from Stade lock Alexandre Flanquart after a second drop goal from Plisson and a Jerome Porical penalty put the visitors into the lead for the first time at 13-16, despite losing lock Pascal Papé to the sin-bin.

Perpignan though did make their numerical advantage count, Italian international Tommaso Benvenuti crossing for the hosts second try with Hook converting for a 20-16 lead at half-time, as Stade were momentarily down to 13 men after Antoine Burban was sent to the bin for a trip.

A long-range penalty from Jerome Porical narrowed the gap to a single point and two more strikes from the full-back then had Stade in front, leading 20-25 as Perpignan lost Justin Purll to a yellow card midway through the second half.

Sofiane Guitoune's try put Perpignan back into the lead after Hook's conversion and set up a narrow finish, that was settled by Plisson's third and final drop goal.

Perpignan: 15 James Hook, 14 Sofiane Guitoune, 13 Lifeimi Mafi, 12 Sione Piukala, 11 Tommaso Benvenuti, 10 Camille Lopez, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Luke Narraway, 7 Jean-Pierre Pérez, 6 Justin Purll, 5 Daniel Leo, 4 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 3 Paulica Ion, 2 Romain Terrain, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Replacements: 16 Maxime Delonca, 17 Sebastien Taofifenua, 18 Bertrand Guiry, 19 Alasdair Strokosch, 20 Tom Ecochard, 21 David Marty, 22 Wandile Mjekevu, 23 Kisi Pulu.

Stade Francais: 15 Jerome Porical, 14 Waisea Vuidravuwalu, 13 Paul Williams, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Jerome Fillol, 8 Sergio Parisse (c), 7 Pierre Rabadan, 6 Antoine Burban, 5 Pascal Pape, 4 Alexandre Flanquart, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Laurent Sempere, 1 Heinke Van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Aled de Malmanche, 17 Romain Frou, 18 Gerhard Mostert, 19 Sylvain Nicolas, 20 Julien Dupuy, 21 Jeremy Sinzelle, 22 Hugo Bonneval, 23 Devit Kubriashvili.

Referee: A. Ruiz

Toulouse 40-3 Bayonne

Toulouse's second half flurry of points lead them to a handsome win over Bayonne, with Luke McAlister kicking 20 of them.

McAlister opened the scoring with a penalty after 15 minutes and kicks at goal played a central role in the opening half.

The former All Black slotted three more kicks at goal, with Martin Bustos Moyano responding for Bayonne just before half-time, his first of the night after missing three earlier kicks.

Two quick-fire tries from Christopher Tolofua and Maxime Médard then opened up a sizeable gap on the scoreboard for Toulouse; McAlister adding both conversions to put them 26-3 ahead.

With Bayonne despondent, Toulouse wrapped up the try bonus point thanks to a penalty try earned by their forward pack through a rolling maul, before Louis Picamoles dotted down for the crucial fourth score – McAlister's conversion bringing up the 40-point mark.

Bayonne's miserable night was then capped off by having a red card shown to replacement Jean Joseph Marmouyet for striking an opponent with the knee.

Toulouse: 15 Yoann Huget, 14 Maxime Médard, 13 Yann David, 12 Florian Fritz, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Luke McAlister, 9 Jean-Marc Doussain, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Thierry Dusautoir, 6 Gregory Lamboley, 5 Joe Tekori, 4 Romain Millo Chluski, 3 Antoine Guillamon, 2 Christopher Tolofua, 1 Vasil Kakovin.
Replacements: 16 Jaba Bregvadze, 17 Cyril Baille, 18 Yoann Maestri, 19 Yannick Nyanga, 20 Sebastien Bézy, 21 Jean-Pascal Barraque, 22 Gael Fickou, 23 Census Johnston.

Bayonne: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 Martin Bustos Moyano, 13 Joe Rokocoko, 12 Gabiriele Lovobalavu, 11 Bastien Fuster, 10 Stephen Brett, 9 Guillaume Rouet, 8 Opeti Fonua, 7 Julien Puricelli, 6 Jean Monribot, 5 Lisiate Fa'aoso, 4 Abdellatif Boutaty, 3 Neemia Tialata, 2 David Roumieu, 1 Aretz Iguiniz.
Replacements: 16 Anthony Etrillard, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Gert Muller, 19 Dwayne Haare, 20 Jean Joseph Marmouyet, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 Matthieu Ugalde, 23 Manu