Top 14 Wrap: Montpellier score 50

Date published: February 16 2014

Montpellier racked up a half century in their thrashing of Perpignan, while Biarritz failed to win yet again at home to Toulouse.

Montpellier racked up a half century in their thrashing of Perpignan, while Biarritz failed to win yet again at home to Toulouse.

Elsewhere Racing Métro kicked their way past visiting Bayonne, while the fixture between Oyonnax and Bordeaux-Bègles was postponed due to torrential rain.

In the late game, Brive picked up a bonus-point win over title hopefuls Stade Français.

Grenoble 16-13 Clermont
Toulon 19-13 Castres
Biarritz 6-16 Toulouse
Montpellier 50-19 Perpignan
Oyonnax p-p Bordeaux-Bègles
Racing Métro 18-8 Bayonne
Brive 28-12 Stade Français

Biarritz Olympique 6-16 Stade Toulousain
Parc des Sports d'Aguilera, Biarritz

Struggling Biarritz remain rooted to the bottom of the Top 14 following their latest loss, this time at home to playoff contenders Toulouse.

Dimitri Yachvili had kicked the hosts into a 6-3 lead before France centre Gael Fickou scored the game's only try, with France scrum-half Jean Marc Doussain converting and adding three penalties.

Biarritz remain well adrift at the bottom of the Top 14, with Oyonnax currently 14 points ahead of them.

The scorers:

For Biarritz:
Pen: Yachvili 2

For Toulouse:
Try: Fickou
Con: Doussain
Pen: Doussain 2

Biarritz: 15 Paul Couet Lannes, 14 Takudzwa Ngwenya, 13 Charles Gimenez, 12 Seremaia Burotu, 11 Teddy Thomas, 10 Julien Peyrelongue, 9 Dimitri Yachvili, 8 Imanol Harinordoquy, 7 Tanguy Molcard, 6 Benoit Guyot, 5 Mathias Marie, 4 Erik Lund, 3 Ben Broster, 2 Jean Philippe Genevois, 1 Fabien Barcella.
Replacements: 16 Arnaud Heguy, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Eric Dos Santos Madeira, 19 Joshua Furno, 20 Yann Lesgourgues, 21 Daniel Waenga, 22 Aled Brew, 23 Francisco Gomez Kodela.

Toulouse: 15 Maxime Medard, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Gael Fickou, 12 Clement Poitrenaud, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Sebastien Bezy, 9 Jean-Marc Doussain, 8 Gillian Galan, 7 Akapusi Qera, 6 Yacouba Camara, 5 Yoann Maestri, 4 Romain Millo Chlusky, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Christopher Tolofua, 17 Cyril Baille, 18 Joe Tekori, 19 Louis Picamoles, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Arthur Bonneval, 22 Timoci Matanavou, 23 Yohan Montes.

Referee: Jérôme Garcès

Montpellier Hérault Rugby 50-19 USA Perpignan
Stade Yves Du Manoir, Montpellier

Montpellier thrilled their home supporters by running in five tries in an emphatic win over Perpignan.

Former All Black centre Rene Ranger scored twice for the hosts as did number eight Alex Tulou, with Eric Escande adding a late try.

French scrum-half Benoit Paillaugue added 20 points with the boot including four penalties, with estranged France fly-half Francois Trinh-Duc putting over a drop goal.

Perpignan's sole try came from centre Lifeimi Mafi as they lost both Daniel Leo and Alasdair Strokosch to the bin.

The scorers:

For Montpellier:
Tries: Ranger 2, Tulou 2, Escande
Cons: Paillaugue 4, Escande
Pens: Paillaugue 4
Drop Goal: Trinh-Duc
Yellow Card: Watremez

For Perpignan:
Tries: Mafi
Con: Hook
Pen: Hook 3
Yellow Cards: Leo, Strokosch

Montpellier: 15 Anthony Floch, 14 Rene Ranger, 13 Anthony Tuitavake, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Lucas Dupont, 10 Francois Trinh-Duc, 9 Benoit Paillaugue, 8 Alex Tulou, 7 Paul Grant, 6 Alexandre Bias, 5 Thibaut Privat, 4 Robins Tchale Watchou, 3 Maximiliano Bustos, 2 Charles Geli, 1 Mikheil Nariashvili.
Replacements: 16 Thomas Bianchin, 17 Yvan Watremez, 18 Sitaleki Timani, 19 Fred Quercy, 20 Eric Escande, 21 John Beattie, 22 Pierre Berard, 23 Nicolas Mas.

Perpignan: 15 James Hook, 14 Richard Haughton, 13 Lifeimi Mafi, 12 Sione Piukala, 11 Watisoni Votu, 10 Tommaso Allan, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Daniel Leo, 7 Alasdair Strokosch, 6 Jean Pierre Perez, 5 Romain Taofifenua, 4 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 3 Giorge Jgenti, 2 Guilhem Guirado, 1 Sebastien Taofifenua.
Replacements: 16 Romain Terrain, 17 Sona Taumalolo, 18 Guillaume Vilaceca, 19 Justin Purll, 20 Tom Ecochard, 21 David Marty, 22 Joffrey Michel, 23 Paulica Ion.

Referee: Cyril Lafon

US Oyonnax v Union Bordeaux-Bègles
Stade Charles-Mathon, Oyonnax

Match Postponed

Oyonnax: 15 Florian Denos, 14 Silvere Tian, 13 Pierre Aguillon, 12 Roimata Pune, 11 Samuela Wara, 10 Regis Lespinas, 9 Agustin Figuerola, 8 Viliami Ma'afu, 7 Scott Newlands, 6 Joseph El abd, 5 Damian Browne, 4 Thibault Lassalle, 3 Marc Clerc, 2 Jody Jenneker, 1 Lukas Rapant.
Replacements: 16 Neil Clark, 17 Clement Baiocco, 18 Damien Lagrange, 19 Nemia Soqeta, 20 Fabien Cibray, 21 Benjamin Urdapilleta, 22 Guillaume Bousses, 23 Antoine Tichit.

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Charles Brousse, 13 Felix Le bourhis, 12 Thibault Lacroix, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Pierre Bernard, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Matthew Clarkin, 7 Hugh Chalmers, 6 Louis Madaule, 5 Adam Jaulhac, 4 Alikisio Fakate, 3 Albert Toetu, 2 Benat Auzqui, 1 Jean-Batiste Poux.
Replacements: 16 Wayne Avei, 17 Laurent Delboulbes, 18 Cameron Treloar, 19 Matt Graham, 20 Poutasi Luafutu, 21 Emmanuel Saubusse, 22 Nicolas Sanchez, 23 Silviu Florea.

Referee: Alexandre Ruiz

Racing Métro 92 v Aviron Bayonnais
Stade Yves Du Manoir – Colombes (Paris)

Ireland fly-half Jonathan Sexton came off the bench to score two penalties in Racing's ten-point win over Bayonne.

France scrum-half Maxime Machenaud had already sent over four three-pointers before Sexton entered the fray, with the home team not scoring a try.

Bayonne centre Santiago Fernandez was the only try scorer, his points accompanied by a penalty from Stephen Brett.

The visitors' prospects of winning were dented following a straight red card for flanker Julien Puricelli in the second half after consultation from the TMO for making contact with the head of Adrien Plante.

The scorers:

For Racing Métro:
Pens: Machenaud 4, Sexton 2

For Bayonne:
Tries: Fernandez
Pen: Brett
Red Card: Puricelli

Racing Métro: 15 Benjamin Fall, 14 Adrien Plante, 13 Henry Chavancy, 12 Alexandre Dumoulin, 11 Marc Andreu, 10 Benjamin Dambielle, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Jacques Cronje, 7 Antoine Battut, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Francois van der Merwe, 4 Juandre Kruger, 3 Luc Ducalcon, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Julien Brugnaut.
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Davit Khinchagishvili, 18 Karim Ghezal, 19 Camille Gerondeau, 20 Mike Phillips, 21 Jonathan Sexton, 22