Top 14 Wrap: Montpellier hammer Racing

Date published: March 19 2016

Keep up with the day's games on Saturday in Round 19 of the Top 14 season, as Montpellier hammered Racing 92.


Stade Français 33-20 La Rochelle
Montpellier 60-7 Racing 92
Pau 21-16 Castres
Oyonnax 30-28 Agen

Stade Français 33-20 La Rochelle
Stade Jean Bouin, Paris

Early tries set Stade Français on their way for a much-needed win over visitors La Rochelle.

France wing Djibril Camara crossed twice along with Julien Arias and Willem Alberts, with three conversions from Steyn, to open up a gap on the scoreboard.

La Rochelle winger Mali Hingano did cross twice within seven minutes and Jean Pascal Barraque's penalty made the score 19-17 at the break.

Camara's second try after the break extended the gap, Barraque countering with another penalty, before Paul Williams try settled the outcome.

The scorers:

For Stade Français:
Tries: Arias, Camara 2, Alberts, Williams
Cons: Steyn 4
Yellow Cards: Papé, Nicolas

For La Rochelle:
Tries: Hingano 2
Cons: Barraque 2
Pens: Barraque 2
Yellow Card: Fa'eo

Stade Français: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Julien Arias, 13 Geoffrey Doumayrou, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Julien Dupuy, 8 Jono Ross, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Sylvain Nicolas, 5 Pascal Papé, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Laurent Sempere, 1 Emmanuel Felsina
Replacements: 16 Remy Bonfils, 17 Aled de Malmanche, 18 Gerhard Mostert, 19 Raphaël Lakafia, 20 Clement Daguin, 21 Paul Williams, 22 Jérémy Sinzelle, 23 Adrien Oleon

La Rochelle: 15 Pierre Berard, 14 Mali Hingano, 13 Jean Pascal Barraque, 12 Lepani Botia Veivuke, 11 Kini Murimurivalu, 10 Fabien Fortassin, 9 Julien Audy, 8 Kevin Gourdon, 7 Afaesetiti Amosa, 6 Zeno Kieft, 5 Jone Qovu Nailiko, 4 Jason Eaton, 3 David Fe'ao, 2 Hikairo Forbes, 1 Thomas Synaeghel
Replacements: 16 Jordan Seneca, 17 Mike Corbel, 18 Damien Lagrange, 19 Romain Sazy, 20 Jules Lebail, 21 Zack Holmes, 22 Pierre Aguillon, 23 Gagi Bazadze

Referee: Salem Attalah

Montpellier 60-7 Racing 92
Altrad Stadium, Montpellier

Montpellier tore league leaders Racing to shreds with a monster nine-try win.

Timoci Nagusa crossed twice in a one-way stroll for Jake White's side, who climb into the top four after their 12th win of the season.

Four tries in the opening quarter set Montpellier on their way and even a yellow card for Akapusi Qera couldn't halt the run of points, as a Demitri Catrakilis penalty gave Montpellier a 27-0 half-time lead.

Tries from Benjamin Fall and Jesse Mogg came either side of a penalty try at the start of th second half before Etienne Dussartre finally got Racing on the board, before Mickael Ivaldi had the final say for the rampant hosts.

The scorers: 

For Montpellier:
Tries: B du Plessis, Steyn, J du Plessis, Nagusa 2, Fall, Penalty Try, Mogg, Ivaldi
Cons: Catrakilis 3, Paillaugue 2, Steyn
Pens: Catrakilis
Yellow Card: Qera

For Racing:
Try: Dussarte
Con: Dambielle

Montpellier: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Timoci Nagusa, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Benjamin Fall, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Benoit Paillaugue, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Akapusi Qera, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Paul Willemse, 4 Jacques Du Plessis, 3 Davit Kubriashvili, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Yvan Watremez
Replacements: 16 Mickael Ivaldi, 17 Oleg Ishchenko, 18 Thibault Privat, 19 Wian Liebenberg, 20 Nic White, 21 Ben Lucas, 22 Marvin O'Connor, 23 Nicolas Mas

Racing 92: 15 Johan Goosen, 14 Albert Vulivuli, 13 Etienne Dussartre, 12 Alexandre Dumoulin, 11 Louis Dupichot, 10 Rémi Tàles, 9 Xavier Chauveau, 8 Chris Masoe, 7 Luc Barba, 6 Yannick Nyanga Kabasele, 5 Thibault Dubarry, 4 Juandré Kruger, 3 Cedate Gomes Sa, 2 Virgile Lacombe, 1 Davit Khinchagashvili
Replacements: 16 Dimitri Szarzewski, 17 Khatchik Vartanov, 18 Francois van der Merwe, 19 Antonie Claassen, 20 Marc Andreu, 21 Benjamin Dambielle, 22 Joe Rokocoko, 23 Ben Tameifuna

Last year’s result: Racing won 19-16
Kick-off: 14:15 local (13:15 GMT)
Referee: Mathieu Raynal

Pau 21-16 Castres
Stade du Hameau, Pau 

Despite Castres scoring the only try Pau were the winners on Saturday as All Blacks fly-half Colin Slade kicked six penalties.

The signing from the Crusaders was influential with the boot, as his total points were topped off by a drop goal from Damien Traille.

Castres took the early lead thanks to the try by Alexandre Bias, converted by Julien Dumora, as Dumora and Slade traded penalties for Castres to take a 10-3 lead.

A second Dumora penalty made that gap ten points but Slade chipped away, three penalties make it 12-13 at half-time. A Slade penalty and Traille drop goal put Pau ahead with Slade's sixth three-pointer rounding things off, before Caminati's late strike helped Castres finish within seven.

The scorers: 

For Pau:
Pens: Slade 6
Drop Goal: Traille

For Castres:
Try: Bias
Con: Dumora
Pens: Dumora, Caminati
Yellow Card: Smith

Pau: 15 Damien Traille, 14 Sireli Bobo, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Jale Vatubua, 11 Julien Fumat, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Samuel Marques, 8 James Coughlan, 7 Paddy Butler, 6 Daniel Ramsay, 5 Abdellatif Boutaty, 4 Julien Pierre, 3 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 2 Mehdi Boundjema, 1 Julien Jacquot
Replacements: 16 Thomas Bianchin, 17 Chris King, 18 Jovili Domolailai, 19 Jean Bouilhou, 20 Thibault Daubagna, 21 Brandon Fajardo, 22 Watisoni Votu, 23 Euan Murray

Castres: 15 Geoffrey Palis, 14 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 13 Thomas Combezou, 12 Remi Lamerat, 11 David Smith, 10 Julien Dumora, 9 Julien Seron, 8 Alex Tulou, 7 Mathieu Babillot, 6 Alexandre Bias, 5 Rodrigo Capo Ortega, 4 Christophe Samson, 3 Karena Wihongi, 2 Marc-Antoine Rallier, 1 Antoine Tichit
Replacements: 16 Mihai Lazar, 17 Julien Beziat, 18 Yohan Montes, 19 Benjamin Desroches, 20 Johnnie Beattie, 21 Piula Faasalele, 22 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 23 Julien Caminati

Referee: Maxime Chalon

Oyonnax 30-28 Agen
Stade Charles Mathon, Oyonnax

Oyonnax moved off the bottom of the Top 14 after winning the battle of the bottom two in a narrow win over Agen.

Nicky Robinson's extra conversion proved to be the difference in a close-fought affair at the Stade Charles Mathon.

The hosts lost Jody Jenneker to a yellow card in the first quarter as Burton Francis struck two penalties to one from Robinson before Agen scored the first try through Alexei Bales. 

Robinson's penalty followed by a penalty try helped the sides draw level at 13-13 by the break. Agen came out fast at the start of the second half with a Robinson penalty and converted try by Johann Sadie to make it 13-23.

But Oyonnax responded with Pierrick Gunther's try and a Robinson penalty before Pedrie Wannenburg's converted score for the lead. George Tilsley responded for Agen, but Francis couldn't land the key conversion.

The scorers: 

For Oyonnax:
Tries: Penalty Try, Gunther, Wannenburg
Cons: Robinson 3
Pens: Robinson 3
Yellow Card: Jenneker

For Agen:
Tries: Bales, Sadie, Tilsley
Cons: Francis 2
Pens: Francis 3

Oyonnax: 15 Silvere Tian, 14 Dug Codjo, 13 Jimmy Yobo, 12 Roimata Hansell-Pune, 11 Uwanakaro Tawalo, 10 Nicky Robinson, 9 Arthur Aziza, 8 Pedrie Wannenburg, 7 Olivier Missoup, 6 Maurie Fa'asavalu, 5 Fabrice Metz, 4 George Robson, 3 Marc Clerc, 2 Jody Jenneker, 1 Laurent DelBoulbes
Replacements: 16 Thomas Bordes, 17 Lukas Rapant, 18 Leon Power, 19 Pierrick Gunther, 20 Fabien Cibray, 21 Regis Lespinas, 22 Keziah Giordano, 23 Stan Wright

Agen: 15 Mathieu Lamoulie, 14 George Tilsley, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Lionel Mazars, 11 Pierre Fouyssac, 10 Burton Francis, 9 Alexis Bales, 8 Luke Hamilton, 7 Sione Tau, 6 Marco Kotze, 5 William Demotte, 4 Api Ratuniyarawa, 3 Dave Ryan, 2 Jalil Narjissi, 1 Arsene Nnomo
Replacements: 16 Mike Tadjer, 17 Viliamu Afatia, 18 Marc Baget-Rabarou, 19 Antoine Erbani, 20 Clement Darbo, 21 François Bouvier, 22 Benoit Sicart, 23 Arthur Joly

Referee: Jérôme Garcès