Top 14 wrap: Grenoble sink USAP

Date published: October 6 2012

Grenoble recorded their fourth consecutive home win in the Top 14 after knocking over Perpignan 28-23 on Saturday.

Grenoble recorded their fourth consecutive home win in the Top 14 after knocking over Perpignan 28-23 on Saturday.

Earlier, Toulon cruised back to the top of the tournament standings after brushing aside Biarritz 36-9 at Parc des Sports Aquilera.

Montpellier climbed to fourth in the standings with victory on the road over Racing Metro while Stade Français recorded their first win outside the capital in two seasons by edging past Mont de Marsan.

In the late game, Toulouse needed a penalty try after the final hooter to sneak past Bordeaux-Bègles.

Castres v Clermont – Match report here
Biarritz v Toulon – Match report here
Bayonne 37-16 Agen
Grenoble 28-23 Perpignan
Racing Metro 12-16 Montpellier
Mont-de-Marsan 28-30 Stade Français
Bordeaux-Bègles 32-34Toulouse

Aviron Bayonnais 37-16 SU Agen
Stade Jean Dauger, Bayonne

Bayonne pivot Benjamin Boyet punished Agen's ill-discipline by kicking a whopping nine penalties to help carry his side to victory.

The scorers:

For Bayonne:
Try: Garcia
Con: Boyet
Pens: Boyet 9

For Agen:
Try: Avramovic
Con: Goosen
Pens: Goosen 3
Yellow card: Lagrange

Bayonne: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Sam Gerber, 12 Manu Ahotaeiloa, 11 Marvin O'Connor 10 Benjamin Boyet, 9 Cedric Garcia, 8 Julien Puricelli, 7 Dwayne Haare, 6 Guillaume Bernad, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Dewald Senekal, 3 Nemiah Tialata, 2 David Roumieu, 1 Aretz Iguiniz.
Replacements: 16 Gregory Arganese, 17 Vitolio Manukula, 18 Abdellatif Boutaty, 19 Marc Baget, 20 Guillaume Rouet, 21 Gabiriele Lovobalavu, 22 Cedric Heymans, 23 Renaud Boyoud.

Agen: 15 Gregory Goosen, 14 Saimoni Vaka, 13 Miguel Avramovic, 12 Jamie Robinson, 11 Jean Francois Coux, 10 Senio Junior Pelesasa, 9 Mathieu Loree, 8 Opeti Fonua, 7 Marc Giraud, 6 Jean Monribot, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Damien Lagrange, 3 Jonathan Garcia, 2 Jalil Narjissi, 1 Laurent Cabarry.
Replacements: 16 Julien Janaudy, 17 Viliamu Afatia, 18 Leo Bastien, 19 Remi Vaquin, 20 Sylvain Dupuy, 21 Conrad Barnard, 22 Silvere Tian, 23 Euan Murray.

FC Grenoble 28-23 USA Perpignan
Stade Lesdiguières, Grenoble

Grenoble made it back-to-back wins after getting the better of Racing last week.

The hosts dominated the first half but failed to build a lead and only had a three-point advantage at the break (12-9).

The game came to life in the second half however as Grenoble had to fight back after being behind at with 6 minutes left to play.

Aloisio Butonidualevu's try in the 78th minute proved decisive however.

The scorers:

For Grenoble:
Try: Butonidualevu
Con: Courrent
Pens: Courrent 7
Yellow cards: Beukes, Dupont

For Perpignan:
Try: Hook
Pens: Hook 6
Yellow cards: Strokosch, Taumalolo

Grenoble: 15 Fabien Gengenbacher, 14 Lucas Dupont, 13 Rida Jaouher, 12 Nigel Hunt, 11 Viliame Waqaseduadua, 10 Blair Stewart, 9 Valentin Courrent, 8 Florian Faure, 7 Henry Vanderglas, 6 Jonathan Best, 5 Andrew Farley, 4 Naude Beukes, 3 Dayna Edwards, 2 Laurent Bouchet, 1 Kenan Mutapcic.
Replacements: 16 Romain David, 17 Vincent Campo Castillo, 18 Benjamin Hand, 19 Roland Bernard, 20 Joaquin Tuculet, 21 Aloisio Butonidualevu, 22 Jonathan Pelissie, 23 Albertus Buckle.

Perpignan: 15 Richard Haughton, 14 Farid Sid, 13 Gavin Hume, 12 Sione Piukala, 11 Adrien Plante, 10 James Hook, 9 Florian Cazenave, 8 Luke Narraway, 7 Bertrand Guiry, 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Robins Tchale Watchou, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Jeremy Castex, 2 Guilhem Guirado, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Replacements: 16 Romain Terrain, 17 Jerome Schuster, 18 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 19 Daniel Leo, 20 David Mele, 21 Armand Batlle, 22 Julien Fritz, 23 Pascal Cotet.

Racing Metro 92 12-16 Montpellier HR
Stade Yves Du Manoir, Colombes (Paris)

Racing Metro suffered two defeats on the trot after going down 16-12 at home to Montpellier on Saturday.

Les Heraultais are the big winners of round eight and will take plenty of momentum into the Heineken Cup.

Montpellier led 3-0 at half time before Alexandre Bias scored the winning on the hour mark.

The scorers:

For Racing Metro:
Pens: Machenaud 4

For Montpellier:
Try: Bias
Con: Paillaugue
Pens: Paillaugue 3

Racing Metro: 15 Benjamin Fall, 14 Sereli Bobo, 13 Alexandre Dumoulin, 12 Fabrice Estebanez, 11 Julien Saubade, 10 Mathieu Belie, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Jacques Cronje, 7 Bernard Le roux, 6 Antoine Battut, 5 Francois Van der merwe, 4 Karim Ghezal, 3 Luc Ducalcon, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Eddy Ben Arous.
Replacements: 16 Thomas Bianchin, 17 Andrea Lo cicero, 18 Fabrice Metz, 19 Masinivanua Matadigo, 20 Sebastien Descons, 21 Olly Barkley, 22 Mirco Bergamasco, 23 Salemane Sa.

Montpellier: 15 Pierre Berard, 14 Timoci Nagusa, 13 Thomas Combezou, 12 Shontayne Hape, 11 Yoan Audrin, 10 Francois Trinh Duc, 9 Benoit Paillaugue, 8 Alex Tulou, 7 Mamuka Gorgodze, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Alikisio Fakate, 4 Hendrikus Hancke, 3 Giorge Jgenti, 2 Erasmus Jansen vanVuuren, 1 Yvan Watremez.
Replacements: 16 Michael Ladhuie, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Mickael De marco, 19 Alexandre Bias, 20 Eric Escande, 21 Matthew Carraro, 22 Jean baptiste Peyras loustalet, 23 Maximiliano Bustos.

Stade Montois 28-30 Stade Français Paris
Stade Guy Boniface

Stade Français won the battle of the boot thanks to eight Jerome Porical penalties which helped them to their first victory on the road in two seasons.

But the Parisians were pushed all the way as Porical's winning kick came in the 74th minute.

Mont-de-Marsan's losing bonus-point finally gets them off the mark this season.

The scorers:

For Mont-de-Marsan:
Try: Baleinadogo
Cons: Claverie
Pens: Claverie 6
Yellow cards: Ricaud

For Stade Français:
Pens: Porical 8
Drop goals: Plisson 2
Yellow cards: Parisse

Mont-de-Marsan: 15 Yohann Durquet, 14 Martin Jagr, 13 Baptiste Chedal, 12 Daniele Baleinadogo, 11 Jean baptiste Dubie, 10 Jean baptiste Claverie, 9 Arnaud Pic, 8 Alexandre Ricaud, 7 Vassili Bost, 6 Julien Tastet, 5 Philipus Liebenberg, 4 Wame Lewaravu, 3 Pieter Grobler, 2 Joan Caudullo, 1 Julian Fiorini.
Replacements: 16 Ephraim Taukafa, 17 Alexandre Menini, 18 Berend Botha, 19 Scott Murray, 20 Laurent Magnaval, 21 Thibault Duvallet, 22 Julien Cabannes, 23 Sebastien Ormaechea.

Stade Français: