Top 14 wrap: Grenoble leapfrog Racing

Date published: September 29 2012

Grenoble pulled off a shock 27-13 win over Racing Métro on Saturday to jump ahead of the Paris club in the Top 14 standings.

Grenoble pulled off a shock 27-13 win over Racing Métro on Saturday to jump ahead of the Paris club in the Top 14 standings.

Montpellier provisionally moved up to fourth in standings thanks to victory at home to Castres.

Mont-de-Marsan are still yet to score a championship point after losing in Perpignan while Agen climbed into mid-table with their third straight win against Bordeaux.

In Friday's game, Clermont needed a last-minute drop goal to snatch victory over Stade Français.

Clermont v Stade Fran̤ais РMatch report here
Agen 19-15 Bordeaux-Bègles
Grenoble 27-13 Racing Métro 92
Montpellier 19-12 Castres
Perpignan 15-6 Mont-de-Marsan
20:45 (18.45 GMT): Toulouse v Toulon
Sunday, September 30
Biarritz v Bayonne

Montpellier Hérault 19-12 Castres Olympique
Stade Yves Du Manoir, Montpellier

In a match played in difficult conditions, Montpellier were made to work overtime for their victory with former England centre Shontayne Hape scoring the game-clinching try for the hosts.

In heavy rain, Rory Kockott kicked four-from-four for Castres to put the visitors ahead going into the final quarter.

But the TMO awarded a controversial try to the hosts despite suspension that Timoci Nagusa had knocked on Francois Trinh-Duc's high ball before Hape touched down the loose ball.

The scorers:
For Montpellier:
Try: Hape
Con: Paillaugue
Pens: Escande, Paillaugue 2

For Castres:
Pens: Kockott 4

Montpellier: 15 Pierre Berard, 14 Timoci Nagusa, 13 Thomas Combezou, 12 Shontayne Hape, 11 Yoan Audrin, 10 Francois Trinh-Duc, 9 Eric Escande, 8 Alex Tulou, 7 Mamuka Gorgodze, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Thibaut Privat, 4 Alikisio Fakate, 3 Giorge Jgenti, 2 Michael Ladhuie, 1 Nahuel Lobo.
Replacements: 16 Erasmus Jansen van Vuuren, 17 Yvan Watremez, 18 Mickael De Marco, 19 Alexandre Bias, 20 Benoit Paillaugue, 21 Matthew Carraro, 22 Jean Baptiste Peyras Loustalet, 23 Maximiliano Bustos
Castres: 15 Romain Teulet, 14 Marcel Garvey, 13 Romain Cabannes, 12 Thomas Sanchou, 11 Marc Andreu, 10 Pierre Bernard, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Iosefa Tekori, 7 Yannick Caballero, 6 Jan de bruin Bornman, 5 Rodrigo Capo Ortega, 4 Christophe Samson, 3 Karena Wihongi, 2 Mathieu Bonello, 1 Yannick Forestier.
Replacements: 16 Brice Mach, 17 Mihaita Lazar, 18 Piula Faasalele, 19 Pedrie Wannenburg, 20 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 21 Remi Tales, 22Romain Martial, 23 Michael Coetzee.

USA Perpignan 15-6 Stade Montois
Stade Aimé Giral, Perpignan

In violet winds and heavy rain, Wales international James Hook contributed all of Perpignan's points courtesy of five penalties.

In a forgettable match, it was USAP's defence that ultimately won the day

Mont-de-Marsan fought hard on the water-logged pitch but were sent home empty handed…again.

The scorers:
For Perpignan:
Pens: Hook 5
For Mont-de-Marsan:
Pens: Claverie 2
Perpignan: 15 Richard Haughton, 14 Armand Batlle, 13 David Marty, 12 Sione Piukala, 11 Adrien Plante, 10 James Hook, 9 Florian Cazenave, 8 Daniel Leo, 7 Bertrand Guiry, 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Robins Tchale Watchou, 4 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 3 Jeremy Castex, 2 Romain Terrain, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Replacements: 16 Guilhem Guirado, 17 Jerome Schuster, 18 Luke Charteris, 19 Luke Narraway, 20 David Mele, 21 Lifeimi Mafi, 22 Gavin Hume, 23 Pascal Cotet.
Mont-de-Marsan: 15 Simon Lucu, 14 Nicholas Price, 13 Daniele Baleinadogo, 12 Seru Rabeni, 11 Julien Cabannes, 10 Jean Baptiste Claverie, 9 Laurent Magnaval, 8 Haisini Taulanga, 7 Johannes Britz, 6 Vassili Bost, 5 Philipus Liebenberg, 4 Wame Lewaravu, 3 Pieter Grobler, 2 Joan Caudullo, 1 Julian Fiorini.
Replacements: 16 Thomas Bordes, 17 Pierre Correia, 18 Sebastian De chaves, 19 Yann Brethous, 20 Arnaud Pic, 21 Jean Baptiste Dubie, 22 Yohann Durquet, 23 Mathieu Giudicelli.

SU Agen 19-15 Union Bordeaux-Bègles
Stade Armandie, Agen

Agen centre Jamie Robinson scored the only try of the match as Philippe Sella's side recorded their third straight win.

Bordeaux-Bègles head home with a valuable and deserved losing bonus point but will rue their indiscipline.

A 77th minute dust up saw four players get their marching orders!

The scorers:
For Agen:
Try: Robinson,
Con: Barnard
Pens: Barnard 3, Goosen

For Bordeaux-Bègles:
Pens: Lopez 5

Yellow cards:Chalmers, Cabbarry, Forbes, Narjissi
Red cards: Treloar; Lozada

Agen: 15 Gregory Goosen, 14 Saimoni Vaka, 13 Vincent Roux, 12 Jamie Robinson, 11 Jean Francois Coux, 10 Conrad Barnard, 9 Mathieu Loree, 8 Opeti Fonua, 7 Marc Giraud, 6 Jean Monribot, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Esteban Lozada, 3 Johnson Falefa, 2 Jalil Narjissi, 1 Laurent Cabarry.
Replacements: 16 Julien Janaudy, 17 Viliamu Afatia, 18 Damien Lagrange, 19 Ueleni Fono, 20 Alexi Bales, 21 Senio Junior Pelesasa, 22 Belisario Agulla, 23 Jonathan Garcia.

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Bruce Reihana, 14 Metuisela Talebulamaijaina, 13 Felix Le Bourhis, 12 Julien Rey, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Camille Lopez, 9 Emmanuel Saubusse, 8 Matthew Clarkin, 7 Hugh Chalmers, 6 Louis Benoit Madaule, 5 Adam Jaulhac, 4 Cameron Treloar, 3 Albert Toetu, 2 Wayne Avei, 1 Laurent Delboulbes.
Replacements: 16 Fabien Rofes, 17 Hikairo Forbes, 18 Karolis Navickas, 19 Sisaro Koyamaibole, 20 Rohan Kitshoff, 21 Julien Seron, 22 Charles Brousse, 23 Jefferson Poirot.

FC Grenoble 27-13 Racing Métro 92
Stade des Alpes (Grenoble)
Grenoble pulled off the upset of the round thanks to their shock win over favourites Racing Metro, their second success over a big Parisian club this season after upsetting Stade Français.

The result sees the newly promoted club climb to sixth in the standings!

Blair Stewart was brilliant at fly-half for Grenoble, creating both their tries in the first half as the hosts took a 14-3 lead into the interval.

The home side dominated from start to finish and only a late Mirco Bergamasco try denied them a bonus point.

The scorers:
For Grenoble:
Try: Hunt, Pelissié , Vanderglas
Con: Pelissié 2, Courrent
Pens: Courrent 2

For Racing Métro:
Try: Bergamasco
Pens: Bergamasco 2

Grenoble: 15 Fabien Gengenbacher, 14 Lucas Dupont, 13 Rida Jaouher, 12 Nigel Hunt, 11 Ronald Cooke, 10 Blair Stewart, 9 Jonathan Pelissie, 8 Florian Faure, 7 Henry Vanderglas, 6 Jonathan Best, 5 Naude Beukes, 4 Benjamin Hand, 3 Dayna Edwards, 2 Vincent Campo Castillo, 1 Kenan Mutapcic.
Replacements: 16 Romain David, 17 Laurent Bouchet, 18 Andrew Farley, 19